Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
We tried this recipe tonight and I have to agree agree with several other reviewers that you have to add water in the amount of equal to the tomato sauce in order to have this cook for 6 hours in a slow cooker. It is a great recipe I added more cheese, more meat and some basil and additional Italian seasoning and some black pepper. We did not use cottage cheese or ricotta which is our family preference it was fantastic with just the mozzarella and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beavercreek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
If you purchase precooked (dry) lasagna noodles everything is faster and you don't need extra liquid except for tomato sauce and white cheese sauce if you are using it. We don't use any other kinds of noodles anymore-AND you can get them in gluten free rice etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Are you worried about pasta in the slow cooker? First thing take out a cookie sheet [That's what I use] Pour in hot water & lay your pasta in it to give it a head start. I also do this when I make my lasagna in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
If you make this same recipe in your favorie lasagna pan and add water until almost pan is briming cover tightly with plastic wrap, then cover tightly with foil and place in fridge for several hours or until you are ready to use it. Now just heat and eat. Do not over bake. And if you made it in a ceramic or glass pan use the microwave instead. This is the only way I have made my trays of lasagna since 1979, and I am a professional chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I loved the end result of this recipe. Before beginning, I read a lot of the reviews and made a few substitutions. To make sure the dish did not dry out, at another reviewer's suggestion, I added probably 3/4 cup of water, a little over the noodles, and over the meat mixture, wherever I felt it was too thick. I used regular, not pre-cooked noodles. I also added a full large container of ricotta cheese, 1 egg, and a 32 oz. container of 4-cheese spaghetti sauce, no tomato sauce, but all other ingredients as in original recipe. This was the best lasagna I've ever made and I'll definitely make it again. It was creamy, the noodles weren't gummy, and the sauce was great. I think other additions could be made, such as mushrooms, green peppers, perhaps shellfish. I think the first time you make this, you should stay close to home so you know how fast it's going to cook. I was expecting mine to take 4 to 6 hours, but it was done in 3, with a couple of dark brown spots in 2 places. My slow cooker is older and its 'low' setting is probably slower than newer models.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Munoz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe. Substitutes are easy to incorporate without ruining the goodness of the outcome. Thanks Kimirn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Patterson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I really liked this and is now in my permanent recipe book. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Jarrod LOVED this!!! used 1 lb of beef and no boil lasagna noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Make sure sauce is last layer on top to keep the noodles moist. I just had cheese on top of the last layer of noodles and they end up hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
At first, I was disappointed. Before refrigerating, the lasagna tasted overcooked and impossibly salty. However, after standing in the fridge for a couple of hours, it really improved; the saltiness became tolerable and the flavors started to shine through. Now after two days in the fridge it's even better, but it's not amazing. It's overcooked--the ricotta and other cheeses are too rubbery but the flavors are all there, at least and it does taste pretty good. I cooked it for 4 hrs on low. Then it was kept warm for about 5 hours while I wasn't home. Wondering if that caused it to be overcooked or if 4 hours on low is too much. It was burned around the edges pretty significantly, and I'm thinking the keep-warm feature couldn't have caused that. Next time, I'll try to check on it periodically. One very good thing though is that the noodles turned out at perfect consistency. You *do not* have to use no-boil noodles. I used regular, whole wheat noodles and they came out perfectly. As others have noted, forego adding any salt. I think it's the can of tomato paste that risks making this lasagna way too salty. I didn't add any salt--and in fact I made my own tomato sauce from scratch and didn't add any salt to it, but I think it's the tomato paste that really did it with the salti-ness. Overall, because it's so much easier to make than oven lasagna, I would make this again. 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States