Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used KARLA10's layering suggestion and this turned out very good. I added 1 Tblsp. of Wildtree spaghetti seasoning and one small , chopped onion to the pan of sausage, and also mixed in the 2 jars of spaghetti sauce to help with quicker layering. Instead of ricotta cheese (my family and I don't like ricotta in our lasagna), I put in some low-fat cottage cheese. I added 1 box of organic spinach and some shredded parmesan into the cheese mixture to add in some veggies. This is simply delicious and I am so happy to be able to make this in the crock pot since we will be having 100+ degree weather in my area for the next few weeks. I love my crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Flores

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
It ain't pretty but it sure does taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I am giving this 3 stars with promise. I intend to add a lot more next time to give this the texture and taste I'd prefer. 1) add chopped onion, chopped red pepper, a bag of fresh spinach, garlic, red pepper flakes and Italian seasoning. 2) add more meat - spicy Italian sausage was great but will go with 2 lbs versus 1. 3)definitely DO NOT use no-boil noodles. They were incredibly soggy. Flavor was great and recipe was easy but the texture of the noodles was like paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was easy and pretty good. Not great, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was very good!! I sauted 1 onion and 1 green pepper after sausage was crumpled and cooked. I layered like lasagna and was able to use almost whole box of lasagna noodles (used regular noodles - not no-cook ones!) - had maybe 4-5 layers! I put it all together night before, stored in frig and in morning cooked on WARM setting for almost 9 hours because we work. Did not even realize you could cook on warm. Noodles were perfect! Tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I used whole wheat regular noodles and found that I should have used many more of them - 8 hours on warm was definitely enough time to cook them. Also added red peppers and onions. Loved this, and it was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is an excellent easy recipe although you can't stop eating it, so it has too many calories. So I made a few changes. OK, a lot of changes but it's still the same basic recipe. First things first, this can be a big mess to clean up, so I like to use slow cooker liners. You just throw it away when done. I use a third to half sausage and the rest a leaner ground beef. I first cook the meats, then set aside. Using the fat from the meats, cook a diced medium onion. When the onion has been going a couple minutes, I add about a half pound of mushrooms (I use cremini and button about 50-50) sliced medium thick so that they don't just disintegrate. Turn it off, then add the meat back into the pan along with a bag of raw spinich (it will cook in the pot). I use a jar of pasta sauce and a can of good tomatoes in juice, either diced or whole which I chop inside the can myself. I have found that Prego heart healthy sauce works fine and has less salt. I also add fresh or jarred garlic and italian seasoning to the sauce. I use a bit of water to rinse out the tomato and sauce jars/cans. It can use a bit more water anyway. Mix about half of the mozzarella (part-skim) with the ricotta and the rest on the top. probably use a bit extra and also add some shredded parmesan on top. As for cooking time, it took me about 4 to 5 hours. My family rated this 5 stars but originally it's a bit plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This came out great!! Love how easy it is to prepare!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Good recipe. I took the advice of a previous review and layered the different items, then poured an additional jar of sauce over the top. In reference to the noodles being soggy, it all comes to preference of how much "bite" your noodles have at the end of cooking. I suspect that the use of "cooking required" noodles would leave more of a bite. Also, 4 hours on low is the max on cooking time. I had to only give 4 stars though because it does require a few changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Really need to watch the time on this one. The noodles can burn on edges. I had to add extra sauce and seasonings. Otherwise, a good slow recipe that I would use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States