Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I give 5 stars for the amazing idea of using a crockpot. The 1st time I made it I followed the recipe [other than subst. sweet italian sausage] as written & didn't like the consistency of the noodles, but the kids liked it so I kept my mouth shut! 2nd time I followed other reviewers suggestions & my own the night before: in scant olive oil sauteed onions, garlic, about 6 big leaves fresh basil, small handful of Italian Seasoning, 1-2 lbs. bulk sweet italian sausage- chopping sausage into large chunks while cooking rather than crumbling, & 1 lb. hamburger, deglazed w/some Vermouth, mixed all with 1 Newman's jar sauce & the remainder of about 1 C. Vermouth. I had a quart of normal ricotta& used normal [not precooked] lazagna noodles. Lined the crockpot [Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners], started with about 1 C. 2nd jar of Newman's undoctored sauce in bottom, layer of noodles, layer of ricotta, layer my doctored meat/sauce mixture, layer fresh mozzerella, all the way to the top, then poured all the leftover sauce. I ended up using 3/4 of the quart of ricotta & 3/4 of a pound of mozzerella altogether. Left in refrigerator overnight, next day cooked 3 hours on high, then took to a party, put on low about 1 1/2 hour due to circumstances- I was afraid it would overcook; however, it came out perfect- a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Stuart Dobson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
OK, it's easy and I actually put 3 cans of diced basil & garlic tomatoes and one can of tomato paste and some herbs and seasoning (salt/pepper) and frozen ground beef and regular noodles with 4 cups water, left it on high for 2 hours and (stirred it up) then left it on warm for another 5 hours while I went to work. Then I added ricotta cheese and Parmesan cheese and stirred again and added salt. My kids loved it, the easiest thing to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is a good recipe and easy to make. I left out the ricotta (I don't like it) and layered everything in the crock-pot. It ended up cooking for about 4 1/2 hours which I think ended up being way to long. The noodles were way to soft at that point. I think next time I will only let it go for about 3 - 3 1/2 hours. It still tasted really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyndseyLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was good - but could be improved. I used less noodles and ended up using more sause as it really got dry. I also used less cheese as it really called for a lot. I liked it, hubby thought it was okay but needed many more noodles..Uh, I dont know if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This seemed too totally weird for me, so I made the slow cooker lasagna a different way. This gets stars for the suggestion, because I wouldn't have thought to make lasagna in a slow cooker. The night before I cooked some regular lasagna noodles (a little less than half of a big box) until about 3 minutes before the package recommended. I spread tomato sauce on the bottom of my slow cooker and added noodles, a thin layer of ricotta, some boca meat crumbles, a little bit of mozzerella, more sauce and repeat. I only used about 1/2 of a 2 cup bag of mozzerella and I occasionally added a few sprinkles of dried parsley and dried oregano. The top layer got lasagna, sauce and mozzarella cheese. I used about 3/4 of a jar of pre-made spaghetti sauce. I refrigerated it overnight and turned the slow cooker to high at 3:30, on my break at home between work and grad school. By the time I got home at 9, my partner had cooked the garlic bread and sweet corn and we had a hot meal. It wasn't the most exciting dish I've had, but it was easy and a real time saver. I would definitely recommend some more spices or maybe some veggies. Hope this helps some busy folks out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was a big hit with the kids which is majorly important in my house. And it was SO easy. I think next time I'll use some other kind of pasta as I have a small crockpot. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was a good slow cooker recipe although not as good as an oven baked lasagne. Good for when a crock pot meal fits your days agenda. I agree with others that the noodle consistency gets a bit rubbery. I also found that I needed to add approx. 1 cup more of sauce than stated otherwise it was drying out. I layered ingredients instead of stirring and cooked for 3 hours on low which was plenty. I will make again and experiment with subsitutions like ground beef, zucchini, eggplant or spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this was really surprisingly good. yes, presentation is not great but the taste is wonderful. i did layer it and used half spicy sausage and half sweet italian sausage. beware that this makes a ton of food. i also broke up the noddles into 1/4's as my oval crockpot didn't accomodate the larger size and it worked well. also, this was ready in 2 hours in high. great recipe and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
So very good! I layered instead of stirred. Had my in-laws over for dinner, this literally took me 10 minutes to throw together and then it just baked itself. They all raved about it. I believe I added extra parsley and some oregano over the cheese layer. I agree, presentation is definitely lacking but the taste more than makes up for it! Very easy dish that pleases, will surely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Definitely a keeper recipe, as others have stated. My husband loves this one! We use Italian style chicken sausage from Trader Joe's. I was surprised to find that the quality/taste of the pasta sauce doesn't even matter than much due to the flavor from the ricotta/mozz mix. Meaning: don't waste your best pasta sauce on this forgiving recipe. 4 stars only because of the lousy presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States