Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I used cottage cheese, and layered instead of mixing. Other than that, I made it as stated. Mine was basically a soup! I can't imagine how some people said theirs dried out! I would cut the pasta sauce by HALF, if I make it again. I wonder if everyone else used TWO cans of sauce, as it stated in the recipe?? Bottom line: Even being so soupy I had to eat it from a bowl, the flavor is enough to make me try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
We used meatballs, and way too much ricotta (my husband wasn't reading amounts, unfortunately!) and this was still fabulous! We had lasagna loving company who all gave it the thumbs up. Be warned...not pretty to serve, but still worthwhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Easy, tasty and simple. I too cooked it for only 4 hours and that was plenty. I just doctored the jared sauce a bit, but other than that no changes needed at all. Hubby loved it, and it's very hearty so it goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFritz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Pretty good for being so easy to put together. I added chopped green bell pepper and sweet onion plus a little garlic to the sausage as it finished browning. Mixed it all up instead of layering, so I had to break up the noodles a little bit smaller. Use a quality jarred sauce that you really like, since there is so much of it in this recipe. I used the full cooking time plus a little extra and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I would double the sausage and add one more jar of pasta sauce. Pretty darn good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Tastes just as good as lasagna from the oven. I love it because it is so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I love the slow cooker and my family loved this recipe! I have made it several time, the last with venison burger that was already cooked and drained and it was Great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was a smash hit! I used a couple more oz of ricotta, a little less mozzarella, and layered it in rather than mixed it. I used about a half of a 9oz box of no-boil lasagne noodles, and they didn't turn out gummy at all! I seasoned each layer of sauce with parsley, basil, and oregano, and left it in the slow cooker for 2 hours on low, then put it on high for one more hour. Awesome, and I love the crockpot idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Hmmm..well, this is middle of the road for me. It is a good idea for a quick and simple way to make a "mock-sagna." That said, I had some issues. I read the reviews and saw where many had issues with gummy noodles, so I wanted to try to fix that. Also, my family doesn't like sausage in their lasagna, so I used burger...about 1 1/2 lbs. Oh, and I am one of those people that doesn't like ricotta in my lasagna, so I used cottage cheese. So, burger, 1 box of bowtie noodles, 2 jars of sauce, 1 container of cottage cheese, parsley, and the mozzarella. Now, I figured I would cook it for about 3 hours on low. It looked good. It smelled good. It even mostly tasted ok (for being jarred sauce and all). Still had gummy noodles...like really gummy. And, heaven help me for saying this, too much cheese! I love cheese...I do! But between the gumminess of the noodles and the amount of cheese, this was bordering on a really bad texture for me. Being the way that I am, I'll probably try this again just to see if I can catch it before the noodles get gummy (and cut back the cheese a little...sigh). It's a great idea! It just needs some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I give 5 stars for the amazing idea of using a crockpot. The 1st time I made it I followed the recipe [other than subst. sweet italian sausage] as written & didn't like the consistency of the noodles, but the kids liked it so I kept my mouth shut! 2nd time I followed other reviewers suggestions & my own the night before: in scant olive oil sauteed onions, garlic, about 6 big leaves fresh basil, small handful of Italian Seasoning, 1-2 lbs. bulk sweet italian sausage- chopping sausage into large chunks while cooking rather than crumbling, & 1 lb. hamburger, deglazed w/some Vermouth, mixed all with 1 Newman's jar sauce & the remainder of about 1 C. Vermouth. I had a quart of normal ricotta& used normal [not precooked] lazagna noodles. Lined the crockpot [Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners], started with about 1 C. 2nd jar of Newman's undoctored sauce in bottom, layer of noodles, layer of ricotta, layer my doctored meat/sauce mixture, layer fresh mozzerella, all the way to the top, then poured all the leftover sauce. I ended up using 3/4 of the quart of ricotta & 3/4 of a pound of mozzerella altogether. Left in refrigerator overnight, next day cooked 3 hours on high, then took to a party, put on low about 1 1/2 hour due to circumstances- I was afraid it would overcook; however, it came out perfect- a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Stuart Dobson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States