Slow Cooker Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I love making lasagna in the slow cooker, and this is a good basic recipe (I usually add a variety of ground meats to the sausage and add some more spices and herbs) BUT the "no boil" noodles were very mushy and gummy. I'd stick to the traditional noodles when using the slow cooker....besides that, this is worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Doherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hurleyville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was simple to make, very good, and a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was maybe the best lasagna I have ever made! I followed the recipe as written, except, I only used 1 and a half jar of pasta sauce. After it was cooked, it was kind of runny, so next time, I will just use one jar. I added an egg and some parm to the ricotta. I layered the lasagna: little sauce at bottom of crock pot, lasagna noodles, meat mix, ricotta mix, cheese. I repeated it one more time and topped it with another layer of noodles and poured enough sauce to cover the uncooked pasta. I cooked this on high in the crock pot and it took a little over 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I do recommend doubling the sausage. And be sure to add wine and garlic to the bottled sauce. I make a 2- day process lasagna and my husband says this crock pot lasagna is just as ggod as the 2-day version. Also this recipe is a real winner for a potluck.....easy, yummy,portable and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
one of hubby's faves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made this last night for myself and six boys...it went so fast, I didn't even get a second helping!! Planned to take a picture (as it looked as amazing as it tasted) but as soon as I took the lid off, I had a mad rush to the crockpot! I did add 8oz. of fresh mushrooms and a yellow onion to the sausage and browned it all together before dumping it into the crockpot. I asked the boys if this wwas one they wanted again and got a unanimous YES! (In fact, they were bummed when I told them it wouldn't be tonight!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lotteren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Wonderful and so easy! I added veggies as well(eggplant, pepper, onion) and also added some (drained) cottage cheese & shredded mozz. to the ricotta. I followed previous reviewers suggestions and "frosted" the noodles with the ricotta mixture in order to have more of a layered lasagna. Alternated layers: "frosted" noodles, spices, sauce/meat mixtures, veggies, shredded mozz. Next time I think I will add a couple of mozzarella cheese slices to a layer...it was a little drier than I prefer, but that was b/c of all of the ricotta & maybe I should have used regular shredded mozz. instead of the thinly shredded kind? Either way, this one's a keeper and I was happy with my first attempt at crockpot lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Loved this recipe so much that, "as we speak", I am making it once again with a few modifications. I used more sausage (sweet italian), more garlic and herbs and more sauce. I tried to layer it, so... no mixing. I am using a digital slow cooker. I'll be going home within a couple of hours to a home made meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgetfulmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
The bottom layer of mine was sausage and sauce, then noodles, ricatta and mozz and sauce, noodles, sauces spices, and about 1/4 inch of water. Cooked on high for 4.5 hours. It was THE BEST LASAGNA I have ever had, but I am not Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
First off,I am a crockpot novice but tried this because my husband wouldn't eat vegetable lasagna and I was determined to use our new crockpot! Five doubting adults later there is not even a hint of lasagna for leftovers,and several requests for the recipe! Scanned many of the comments for the always helpful suggestions and did the following in my oval five quart pot: a little sauce after I sprayed with a nonstick olive oil;two full noodles laid across and about a quarter noodle on either side of the two. I had "frosted" each noodle with a mix of a 15oz. container of Italian ricotta,1 egg, and a half cup each of freshly shredded mozzarella and parmesan,threw in Italian seasoning mix and garlic powder,to taste. Then a layer of meat sauce,made from the two jars of sauce and a combo of a half pound of Jimmy Dean spicy sausage and a half pound of lean ground beef. Continued layering my frosted noodles with the meat sauce until ending with the last of the sauce,didn't even fill pot,so you could easily make recipe larger. Cooked on low three hours and forgot to top with the additional cheese in the last five minutes,that would have been even yummier! I used the cheapest sauce on sale at the grocery,basil garlic flavored,and my only other spices were what I added to the ricotta mixture. Used a slotted spoon to plate and everyone got a nice presentation of layers! Will tweak with other add ins and spices but can already highly recommend this one,it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clare'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States