Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My family and I loved this meal. It was very easy to prepare and it tasted delicious. I did use another posters suggestion about adding a chopped apple to the mix. It was wonderful, and we have leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. This will be our good luck meal for each new year. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for the first time New Years Day and it was a BIG hit. Could not be easier. I live very close to Lancaster County and this is as good as I get there. Will be a new New Years tradition, ( as well as all year round)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Only because I changed this recipe a bit did it not receive 5 stars. I used a 4lb bone-in roast (more flavor w/ bone) that I browned in a bit of oil, a large sliced onion that i browned in pan after browning roast--adding a small tad of sugar, 1/8t anise seeds (didn't have any caraway) and 1/8t cumin; a 32oz jar polish kraut w/ caraway seeds, 1 sliced granny smith, 6.75oz apple juice (a juice box). I mixed the apple with the onion and put in bottom, then fat side up roast and apple juice. Cooked in crockpot on L for almost 10hrs. The meat pulled apart, but not fall apart, and had a nice flavor throughout. Made with smashed potatoes and peas per husbands tradition. A keeper for our New Year's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Yum! So easy and delicious. I used bone-in pork chops and also added 1/2 chopped onion, 2 Tbsp. brown sugar and 2 sliced apples on the advice of another reviewer. I browned the pork chops and the onion before putting them into the crock pot with the sauerkraut, apples, caraway seeds and salt and pepper. I cooked on low for about 8 hours and might have let it go a little too long because the sauerkraut came out very mild and soft..almost too mild! But it was delicious and next time I will use more caraway seeds. I love their flavor (add them to meatballs..so yummy). The meat fell off the bone and the sauerkraut came out with a beautiful golden color. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli, carrots and cauliflower. Definitely a keeper recipe! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made this today without the caraway seeds as my husband can't have seeds. I really didnt find the taste of the pork that tasty. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy K

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Holbrook, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Fabulous recipe! Thanks for it! So easy & delicious. I did not have the carraway seeds so I omitted them & also I doubled the sauerkraut & added 1/4 cup brown sugar. Definitly the best recipe I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I cooked this exactly as the directions stated. It turned out great. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Can we just say YUM!! My husband and I are not a fan of Pork Loin but this recipe definitly changed our way of thinking! This one is definitly a keeper in our household :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi Ilundaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
LOVED this recipe! I also added a couple tblsp brown sugar, as well as some garlic powder. My Husband RAVED about this dinner. Absolutely delish, will certainly make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This came out great with a few modifications. I added 1/2 of a large chopped sweet onion to the bottom of the slow cooker. I mixed together 1 chopped apple, a bag of sauerkraut (rinsed), 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1 cup of apple cider. I put about 1/2 of the mixture under the roast and 1/2 on top of the roast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States