Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Like a few others' who rated this recipe, I cannot eat seeds either so I used dried marjoram (goes good with pork).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was thebest recipie I ever used. Allmy friends ravedit was the best pork and saurkraut they evertasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is so good and so easy! I added one apple, about 1/4 cup onion and 2 TB brown sugar. The taste was perfect and went really well with mashed potatoes and brown gravy. Totally company worthy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My neighbor and best friend is from Lancaster County and still has many relatives, now my friends, who still live there. My neighbor asked me if her sister gave me the family recipe for pork and sauerkraut!! I added the brown sugar and a Gala apple (that was all I had on hand) and it added just the perfect amount of sweetness to go with the sauerkraut. Perfection achieved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I would give fuul marks for the cooking instructons, the meat was the most tender I ever ate, and I was so proud that I managed to do it, and the apples were great with i! the only thing I wouldchange is to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My kids would not eat it, even with apples and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Umemoto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Takamatsu, Kagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
That was fantastic! I added the apples and brown sugar. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
The pork came out a bit dry. I will cook less than the recommended time in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Ok, maybe I'm partial since I was born and raised in Lancaster, PA, but I love this recipe! Eating this dish on New Year's Day is a family tradition and has continued to be even though I am now in the South. I still have friends who look at me funny when I say "pork and sauerkraut" but if I can get them to try it, they are hooked! I have just purchased a slow cooker and needed this recipe and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wow! This is definitely a New Year's Day tradition. Being from Pennsylvania, I had to make this. It was excellent. I took one 16 oz. bag of Boar's Head Sauerkraut and layered that on the bottom. Then sprinkled some of the caraway seeds and put the pork in with some salt, pepper, and a little brown sugar. I cut up a large granny smith apple and put that over the pork and then added the other bag of sauerkraut and sprinkled some more caraway seeds. I added just a little bit of water and set the crock pot on low for 8 hours. The pork was falling apart. It went great with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes and some sweet peas and for dessert Nutty Apple Crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States