Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
While I'm not much of a saurkraut lover, my Polish step-father thought my making it was a great father's day present, and the rest of the family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
Very easy and quick to prepare. I will serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
Very good, but needs a little zip !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This is so easy, and my inlaws thought I cooked all day (and it did!). Also works great with a beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This was quite delicious, the only thing I did different was to brown my pork roast before putting it in the slow cooker, otherwise it was the best roast,tender,moist,and just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Good Recipe, Everyone liked the flavor. I did add 1/2 can of Beer to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I thought this was good.....I took the advice of other reviewers and browned my tenderloin. I also really spiced up the recipe with garlic, salt and pepper. It was great with mashed potatoes. The house smelled great while it was cooking. I would try with a pork roast next time I think the added fat would do wonders for the end taste. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
WE are from PA and love pork and sauerkraut. I buy the WHOLE boneless pork loin, and cut it in half, and use what I need depending on how many are eating here. I do NOT brown it, but I do add 1 - 2 apples, cored, w/ skin on and cut into wedges and about 2 - 3 T brown sugar after I add the sauerkraut, that I do NOT drain. I also like to add homemade hot sausage in the roaster. I bake mine covered -- and I like to do it very slow and at a low temp....starting off at 300 and reducing to 250. YUM YUM!!!!! We also like ours w/ mashed potatoes and applesauce!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
MY HUSBAND IS A SOURKRAUT FREAK SO THIS WENT OVER BIG. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPIE EXACTLY UP UNTIL THE COOKING TIME AS WE WERE PRESSED FOR TIME SO I JACKED UP THE TEMP ON THE SLOW COOKER TO HIGH FOR ABOUT 3 1/2 HOURS AND I THOUGHT IT WAS PERFECT, IT LITERALLY FELL APART. MY HUSBAND THOUGHT IT COULD HAVE BEEN DONE EARLIER EVEN AS HE THOUGHT IT WAS A BIT DRY, BUT I LIKED IT. WILL DEFINITLY PUT IT IN THE ROTATION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
YUM! Made me feel like I was back in Pennsylvania again. My mom would would also brown the pork first and add 1/2 of an onion, thinly sliced and approx. 1 to 2 tablespoons of barbecue sauce to the sauerkraut. It adds a smokey flavor and a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States