Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
A good, basic recipe to embellish on to suit individual tastes. I used boneless, country-style ribs and, because I prefer my cabbage fresh and hubs prefers his as sauerkraut, a combination of both. Well, actually, to suit MY tastes I admit there was more fresh cabbage (Savoy, which has a milder flavor) and a lesser amount of sauerkraut. Because the slow cooker doesn't, I browned the ribs first, then set them on top the cabbage and kraut to which I added minced garlic, chopped onion and a small amount of melted butter. I omitted the caraway seed. I deglazed the pan I browned the ribs in, then poured some of that rich liquid over the ribs. This was a nice meal, which I served with boiled new potatoes. Once again, however, this proved that there are limited instances where a slow cooker does a better job than conventional cooking methods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was a delicious and simple recipe. My husband loves pork & kraut but I never have cared for it. I followed the directions with the exception of putting rosemary on the pork roast instead of caraway seeds. The broth changed the flavor of the sauerkraut somewhat which made me like. It was a bit more mellow. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Love pork and sauerkraut. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Oh, this was so good! I mixed the sauerkraut with the brown sugar, a dash of BBQ sauce, and some leftover cut-up cabbage. I put half of that on the bottom of the crockpot and then put the still frozen pork loin in and the rest of the sauerkraut mixture on top. Then I poured a whole bottle of beer in. I turned it on low before going to bed and let it cook all night and all the next day. It was perfect and perfectly moist too! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Like a few others' who rated this recipe, I cannot eat seeds either so I used dried marjoram (goes good with pork).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was thebest recipie I ever used. Allmy friends ravedit was the best pork and saurkraut they evertasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is so good and so easy! I added one apple, about 1/4 cup onion and 2 TB brown sugar. The taste was perfect and went really well with mashed potatoes and brown gravy. Totally company worthy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My neighbor and best friend is from Lancaster County and still has many relatives, now my friends, who still live there. My neighbor asked me if her sister gave me the family recipe for pork and sauerkraut!! I added the brown sugar and a Gala apple (that was all I had on hand) and it added just the perfect amount of sweetness to go with the sauerkraut. Perfection achieved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I would give fuul marks for the cooking instructons, the meat was the most tender I ever ate, and I was so proud that I managed to do it, and the apples were great with i! the only thing I wouldchange is to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My kids would not eat it, even with apples and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Umemoto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Takamatsu, Kagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States