Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
usually no leftovers, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight - it was great!! Used 3.5 lbs boneless pork ribs from Costco, a 32 oz bag of Hebrew National sauerkraut, 4Tbs of brown sugar, 2 red apples, and a can of Molson's beer. I did not brown the pork, just salted it and put it into the slow cooker. Did not rinse or drain the SK. Did not add caraway seeds; don't like them. Peeled and cored the apples. Put everything into the crockpot and cooked according to the directions, approx. 7 hours total. The meat was fantastic and so tender! The flavor was great! Next time I will add a couple more apples for a total of 4 (only change I would make when making it again). Served with boiled, cubed potatoes and applesauce! It was great and oh, so easy! Made enough for 4 hearty servings with enough leftovers for another meal for 2. It was delicious!! The applesauce and potatoes are a must with this meal IMHO. Loved the combination of flavors and it wasn't bitter at all, and not too sweet, just right with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My husband said this was "superb!" He said he wouldn't mind eating this once a week! I followed some of the advice - adding brown sugar and some apple slices. I had to scale everything down a bit because I only had less than 2 lbs. or pork loin to work with. Personally, I would go easy on the caraway seeds because they do have a strong flavor. If you really enjoy rye bread, than you won't mind their strong flavor. I only used 1/2 of an apple thinly sliced because I was a bit nervous about adding apples. But, they tasted great! I even let the roast get to 170 degrees and it still turned out really moist and pull-apart tender. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was wonderful! Caraway was exactly what I was missing! I did add a cut up apple, a quartered onion, some brown sugar, and some apple juice to the sauerkraut to make it more palatable for my kids, but I loved it as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Left in for almost 36 hours! The longer you cook this the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matrix0507

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
As a college kid who spent the holidays away from home, it was important for me to still have my pork and sauerkraut for New Years and share it with my friends. This recipe was perfect for a first-timer like me. I actually let the pork cook in the slow-cooker all night with Martinelli's sparkling apple cider (sooo perfect). I added the rest of the ingredients in the morning and let it cook eight more hours. All of my friends, including the skeptics, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good recipe. My pork was a little dry by itself, but when paired with a bite of sauerkraut it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I adjusted the recipe the recipe by cooking it in 1/2 a bottle of beer and adding 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar to the sauerkraut. We also cooked it on low for about 11 hours. The kraut was tasty, but our pork was on the dried out side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I am from berks county Pa and pork and kraut are a must on new years day, this was such a perfect recipe and simple to make, only thing i would change is not so much caraway seed. takes the taste away from the kraut. I also added half of a bottle of smithwicks irish ale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States