Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made this on a busy busy day! I was so busy in fact I forgot to make any side dish such as potatoes. As a last second thought my husband steamed up some rice in the rice cooker (20 minutes) and we served the tender pork and juicy kraut over the rice I wasn't sure how this combo would work, I thought that it would be better with potatoes or dumplings but we had no time. The rice turned out to be so delicious, I wanted seconds. I recommend serving it over rice even if you are not in a hurry. One more thing I love to add a tsp or 2 of bacon drippings to my Kraut so I did add this straight away and OH MAN it's good!!! Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I have been making pork and sauerkraut for many years the same way you do. However after I moved to Ga. I changed things a bit. I buy a Boston Butt instead of the loin. It is fattier but it cooks up lean. It gives the kraut lots of flavor. I also add a bottle of dark beer. I have made many southern folks appreciate the Pa. tradition of kraut on New Year's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I didn't have the time to do roast. Sooo I used 6 boneless pork chops. Sprinkled with caraway seeds (tried this recipe because of seasoning) then topped with a can of sauerkraut. S/P to taste For my oven 350 - 15/-20 minutes covered. Turned out great! Love the seasoning very "clean" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I read some of the reviews for this recipe and I never heard of adding the apples. I to lived in Pennsylvania and my Mom including so many others that I know have always used brown sugar mixed with the sauerkraut. By adding the brown sugar to the sauerkraut while cooking it takes away the bitterness and gives it a sweet taste. I have always cooked my sauerkraut this way. Add the brown sugar according to your taste. I prefer mine sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
My husband, our 4-year-old and I all ate this right up. Instead of two cups of sauerkraut, I used two 16-oz. cans because we love sauerkraut. I did take the suggestions of others and added two tablespoons of brown sugar and two Granny Smith apples to the crock pot to help reduce the tartness a bit, and I think two apples was too many; the sauerkraut didn't really taste like sauerkraut any more. Next time I'll just use one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
What I used, based on this recipe and other reviewers' suggestions: 2 lbs. pork loin roast, 2-4 cups of sauerkraut with liquid, 1/2-3/4 can beer (I would use less next time as it was a little overpowering), 2 TBsps. each white & brown sugar, two diced green apples, and seasonings (salt, pepper & caraway) to taste. Tossed it all in the slow cooker on low for about 8 hours- When done, shredded the pork to let it absorb more flavour. Served over mashed potatoes. It was tasty, but I think every brand of kraut is different, or maybe because I used too much beer but more sugar was necessary. I made this since I had all the ingredients on hand, however I'm not sure if it will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Knowing my familys' preferences, i added brown sugar, twice the amt of caraway seeds and pepper, added a chopped onion. Served with applesauce, roasted spuds and Lima beans. This was so good, even _i_ went back for seconds and i rarely have seconds! Thanks, Kathie, for the inspiration for an amazing dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Absolutely Perfect! I got lucky and found an untrimmed, bone-in pork loin. They’re getting harder to find as today’s meat is arriving to the store already pre-cut, without the bone, and the fat trimmed away. I like about 1/2" layer of fat covering the entire top of the roast. It is absolutely necessary because it’s the fat from the pork that mellows the sauerkraut and gives it a natural sweet flavor. You know, the old fashioned flavor just like grandma’s. That fat is also going to help keep the roast moist while cooking. When finished, you can trim away the fat and drain the sauerkraut. Also, a big “no, no” is to over cook a loin roast. They get can get very dry if over cooked and you really have to keep an eye on them, especially with the new crock pots. My crock pot had this done in 3hrs and the meat was pulling away from the bone. I knew I shouldn’t have started it on high for the first hour, but did anyway. Some of the meat was already starting to get dry so I cut it into pieces and let it soak in the juice. It was fine by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is beyond easy and was a big success. I am a vegetarian, but this reminded me of New Year's Day growing up in PA. Served with mashed potatoes and it was so tender I could even slice the bone! I did one hour on high and 6 or so on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great recipe. Just like my Mom use to make omitting the caraway & adding cubed potatoes to the crock. Love the flavor of the sauerkraut. Better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States