Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I admittedly have a love-hate relationship with my crock pot. I love the idea, but I don't often love the results. ONCE AGAIN, I am not pleased with the texture of the meat that resulted. Here's the deal: Adding liquid (what was in the can, plus a bottle of German beer, in this case) to a lean piece of meat makes for a dry-texture. Yes, it fell apart and was tender. Yes, the apple and carrot and caraway added a pleasant bent to the sauerkraut part of the dish. I used Bavarian kraut instead of adding the sugar. BUT THE MEAT WAS DRY, as essentially boiled meat would be! I bet that this dish would be great out of the oven. It's just something about the crock pot......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I made this dish at the request of a friend who remembered having it in Ohio when he was young! Followed the recipe exactly except added the apple suggested by others -- did use a dark beer! Per my friend, I served with mashed potatoes. It was very good -- is now on my schedule of meals I cook regularly. It was my husband and my first taste of this Dutch delight but my friend said it was the best he had ever eaten. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Yummy but the 5th star is for how easy this is. I used a whole boneless pork loin that was marinated with onion and garlic (thanks to Costco). Like others, I added 1/2 can beer, 2 tbsps brown sugar and 2 granny smith apples. Also doubled the kraut and caraway seeds(next time I'll do even more). Quartered the apples; didn't add them until 3 hours in or they cook into mush. I've made with and without apples and prefer the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
In our family, we drained and rinsed the sauerkraut first to remove a lot of the salt. Then the kraut is cooked with some chopped onion, some peeled and chopped apple, a bay leaf -- and a small handful of peppercorns. The onions soften in the cooking while the apple disappears (or is mashed into the kraut when really softened). Try peppercorns instead of caraway seeds! And, yes, I've eaten pork and sauerkraut on New Year's Day almost without exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I've made this the last 2-3 years for New Years day, it is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Really delicious. I received lots of good feedback on it from those who tried it. Strange as it may seem, I made the following alterations: Rinsed the sauerkraut, added a sweet apple cut into slices, seasoned the pork with garlic salt and pepper and added one cup apple juice, one cup water to the cooker. The meat was so tender that by the sixth hour it fell apart when I put the meat thermometer in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Great recipe. Didn't use caraway, added granny smith apples and brown sugar but next time I'll try using beer as it seems like it would work nicely. My husband doesn't like sauerkraut but liked the recipe anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I felt like I was back in PA for the New Year. Thanks for the great recipe! I loved the flavor of the caraway seeds and used two Granny Smith apples and 2 T. brown sugar as previously recommended. I also added dumplings on top during the last few minutes of cooking... 1 1/3 c. flour, 1/2 t. salt (cannot omit), 2 t. baking powder, 1 egg, and 1/2 c. milk. You cannot have sauerkraut without dumplings in PA. Most tender pork roast I have ever cooked and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My husband ate HALF of this - he LOVED it! The whole family dug in...the pork fell apart with a fork. Added the onion and a couple of diced Macintosh apples per other reviews. Served w/mashed potatoes. Excellent results w/almost zero effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have never been able to make a pork roast tender and perfect but this recipe does it! I was planning on adding apples, but at the last minute realized we were all out. Trust me the roast is still great without it! I added the caraway seeds and they gave it a great flavor! In addition to what the recipe called for, I added about two cups of water (maybe because my slow cooker is so large). It cooked all day, and I just stole a bite and it is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States