Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made your dinner a few days ago and we really liked it. Thank you for letting me see your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe and added a chopped apple as per some other suggestions. However, we did not enjoy this meal. Perhaps we're not used to the cooked sauerkraut. We love sauerkraut but may not cooked. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I love sauerkraut and hotdogs, so I thought I would love this, but the meat was very odd. It was tender, not dry, but so soft that it just didn't seem right. I did add the brown sugar, onion and apple, so the sauerkraut flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyburb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Good and easy but not our favorite. We added mustard, brown sugar, green peppers and some granny smith apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Here's how I tweaked the recipe: omitted: caraway seeds (didn't have any) added: 2 skinned, cored and diced Royal Gala apples and 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar per other reviewers' suggestions cooked: 8 hours on low LOVED the results. The meat was tender and juicy. I've found that pork tends to be dry when cooked in the slow cooker, but no such issue here. This was a staple in my home on New Year's Day growing up (Pennsylvania Dutch father!) and this brought back great memories. Served with mashed potatoes and applesauce. Thanks Kathie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Super. I made a few changes though. We did not use a pork roast, we used hot dogs and smoked sausage. For one package hot dogs and 8 sausage we used 2 cans sauerkrat, 2 T brown sugar, 1 onion sliced thin, 1/2 t caraway seeds, 2 t bbq sauce, 2 apples, quarted. We sauteed the onion in evo, added the brown sugar, bbq sauce and seeds. After they are cooked I added sauerkraut, mixed together, and placed in slow cooker along with meat. Cooked on low for 2 hours, added the apples and cooked 3 hours more. Very good taste. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was a great recipe. I added 1/2 dark beer, 1 tbl brown sugar, an apple and some garlic powder as well as the specified ingredients. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I admittedly have a love-hate relationship with my crock pot. I love the idea, but I don't often love the results. ONCE AGAIN, I am not pleased with the texture of the meat that resulted. Here's the deal: Adding liquid (what was in the can, plus a bottle of German beer, in this case) to a lean piece of meat makes for a dry-texture. Yes, it fell apart and was tender. Yes, the apple and carrot and caraway added a pleasant bent to the sauerkraut part of the dish. I used Bavarian kraut instead of adding the sugar. BUT THE MEAT WAS DRY, as essentially boiled meat would be! I bet that this dish would be great out of the oven. It's just something about the crock pot......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I made this dish at the request of a friend who remembered having it in Ohio when he was young! Followed the recipe exactly except added the apple suggested by others -- did use a dark beer! Per my friend, I served with mashed potatoes. It was very good -- is now on my schedule of meals I cook regularly. It was my husband and my first taste of this Dutch delight but my friend said it was the best he had ever eaten. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTAYLOR063

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Yummy but the 5th star is for how easy this is. I used a whole boneless pork loin that was marinated with onion and garlic (thanks to Costco). Like others, I added 1/2 can beer, 2 tbsps brown sugar and 2 granny smith apples. Also doubled the kraut and caraway seeds(next time I'll do even more). Quartered the apples; didn't add them until 3 hours in or they cook into mush. I've made with and without apples and prefer the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States