Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I cooked this exactly as the directions stated. It turned out great. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Can we just say YUM!! My husband and I are not a fan of Pork Loin but this recipe definitly changed our way of thinking! This one is definitly a keeper in our household :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Kwiecinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
LOVED this recipe! I also added a couple tblsp brown sugar, as well as some garlic powder. My Husband RAVED about this dinner. Absolutely delish, will certainly make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This came out great with a few modifications. I added 1/2 of a large chopped sweet onion to the bottom of the slow cooker. I mixed together 1 chopped apple, a bag of sauerkraut (rinsed), 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1 cup of apple cider. I put about 1/2 of the mixture under the roast and 1/2 on top of the roast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Short on flavor--I added brown sugar, but that lost the sauerkraut flavor. I made too much and thought it would be better the next day, but it just was tired and boring. I'll try again, perhaps the beer is the answer! I will probably cook this in the oven, as it was so colorless (and I'm retired).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
i used some spicy mustard and brown sugar turned out super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isabella217t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
UPDATE: MADE THIS TONIGHT (FOR THE FIRST TIME IN A LONG WHILE). I ADDED 2 (PEELED & SLICED) GRANNY SMITH APPLES, 2 T BROWN SUGAR AND DOUBLED UP ON THE SAUERKRAUT, S&P AND CARAWAY. SERVED WITH MASHED POTATOES, APPLESAUCE AND PUMPERNICKEL BREAD. FANTASTIC!!! On a recent weekend trip to Milwaukee, I tried something similar at a popular German restaurant and swore I HAD to make it at home! I came across this recipe (which is also in my "favorites" book) and decided to give it a try. To my dismay, I found this dish to be just "OK." I made this for my bf and parents. Everyone but me seemed to like it. :( I purchased a 3 lb. pork loin roast and it was just right for the 4 of us (2 slices per person). I'ts a good thing that I found a loin roast... I almost picked up a tenderloin filet and am glad I didn't! The butcher told me that a tenderloin would fall apart (and dry out) after several hours in the slow cooker and that the loin roast was exactly what I needed. My only regret is not adding apples or enough brown sugar to sweeten the very acidic, tart kraut (I decided to add 1.5 T brown sugar after reading all the reviews). I also want to note that, as written, this recipe does not call for NEARLY enough sauerkraut. My mom wanted a second helping, but there was none left after dishing out 4 servings. This goes particularly well with applesauce, parsleyed new potatoes and rye bread. I hope to make this again, but with some much needed modifications. Thanks for sharing, Kathie! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I LOVE THIS! I make it at least once a month...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I left out the caraway because my PA Dutch gramma doesn't use them. We go with just the pork and kraut served with mashed potatoes. You don't need anything else added for a delish Dutchie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
My family always had this ready at midnight on New Years Eve...for good luck in the coming year. I do add onion and a little brown sugar. Must be served with mashed potatos! Excellent Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States