Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
That was fantastic! I added the apples and brown sugar. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
The pork came out a bit dry. I will cook less than the recommended time in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Ok, maybe I'm partial since I was born and raised in Lancaster, PA, but I love this recipe! Eating this dish on New Year's Day is a family tradition and has continued to be even though I am now in the South. I still have friends who look at me funny when I say "pork and sauerkraut" but if I can get them to try it, they are hooked! I have just purchased a slow cooker and needed this recipe and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wow! This is definitely a New Year's Day tradition. Being from Pennsylvania, I had to make this. It was excellent. I took one 16 oz. bag of Boar's Head Sauerkraut and layered that on the bottom. Then sprinkled some of the caraway seeds and put the pork in with some salt, pepper, and a little brown sugar. I cut up a large granny smith apple and put that over the pork and then added the other bag of sauerkraut and sprinkled some more caraway seeds. I added just a little bit of water and set the crock pot on low for 8 hours. The pork was falling apart. It went great with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes and some sweet peas and for dessert Nutty Apple Crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My family and I loved this meal. It was very easy to prepare and it tasted delicious. I did use another posters suggestion about adding a chopped apple to the mix. It was wonderful, and we have leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. This will be our good luck meal for each new year. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for the first time New Years Day and it was a BIG hit. Could not be easier. I live very close to Lancaster County and this is as good as I get there. Will be a new New Years tradition, ( as well as all year round)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Only because I changed this recipe a bit did it not receive 5 stars. I used a 4lb bone-in roast (more flavor w/ bone) that I browned in a bit of oil, a large sliced onion that i browned in pan after browning roast--adding a small tad of sugar, 1/8t anise seeds (didn't have any caraway) and 1/8t cumin; a 32oz jar polish kraut w/ caraway seeds, 1 sliced granny smith, 6.75oz apple juice (a juice box). I mixed the apple with the onion and put in bottom, then fat side up roast and apple juice. Cooked in crockpot on L for almost 10hrs. The meat pulled apart, but not fall apart, and had a nice flavor throughout. Made with smashed potatoes and peas per husbands tradition. A keeper for our New Year's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Yum! So easy and delicious. I used bone-in pork chops and also added 1/2 chopped onion, 2 Tbsp. brown sugar and 2 sliced apples on the advice of another reviewer. I browned the pork chops and the onion before putting them into the crock pot with the sauerkraut, apples, caraway seeds and salt and pepper. I cooked on low for about 8 hours and might have let it go a little too long because the sauerkraut came out very mild and soft..almost too mild! But it was delicious and next time I will use more caraway seeds. I love their flavor (add them to meatballs..so yummy). The meat fell off the bone and the sauerkraut came out with a beautiful golden color. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli, carrots and cauliflower. Definitely a keeper recipe! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made this today without the caraway seeds as my husband can't have seeds. I really didnt find the taste of the pork that tasty. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy K

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Holbrook, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Fabulous recipe! Thanks for it! So easy & delicious. I did not have the carraway seeds so I omitted them & also I doubled the sauerkraut & added 1/4 cup brown sugar. Definitly the best recipe I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States