Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Perfection. I did two batches exactly as directed and one batch with added apple and brown sugar...then I combined all three batches for serving. Pork was falling apart and the flavors were excellent. I can't wait to go back for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
An unlikely combination that works. I don't LOVE the taste of caraway seeds or saurkraut but it all came together nicely for something a little different. Followed the suggestions of others: added 1/2 can of beer, used an apple corer/slicer on 2 apples and placed the wedges all around the pork, added 2 Tbsp brown sugar (sprinkled some on top and some on the apples). I used Rome apples since I wanted something not so tart and the flavor was very mild, maybe too mild, but still good. I also seasoned the pork with s&p and browned it first, but that's only because I think the coloring is more appetizing. I used a 3lb roast, cooked it for 4 hours on high and then turned it to low while I got the side dishes ready, probably another 45 min. It fell apart and was moist. Definitely serve with applesauce! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very easy to make and very good. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Delicious. I didn't have the seeds so I just omitted them. I also browned the meat before putting into my crock pot. There were NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I use country style pork ribs seasoned with s&p and garlic, 1 large bag of sauerkraut rinsed, and a few quartered red potatoes. Family loves it! I'm going to try adding beer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Won't make this again. Not what me and my family find appetizing and house smells afterwards...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Wow! This is an after work lifesaver. I followed the recipe exactly and it only took me 3 minutes before work to throw it together in the crockpot and it is ready when I get home. I can't emphasize enough how these simple ingredients go together to make a wonderful flavor and super tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
A very tasty, yet simple easy to put together. I followed some of the other suggestion, some brown sugar and spice, and it worked very well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
A good, basic recipe to embellish on to suit individual tastes. I used boneless, country-style ribs and, because I prefer my cabbage fresh and hubs prefers his as sauerkraut, a combination of both. Well, actually, to suit MY tastes I admit there was more fresh cabbage (Savoy, which has a milder flavor) and a lesser amount of sauerkraut. Because the slow cooker doesn't, I browned the ribs first, then set them on top the cabbage and kraut to which I added minced garlic, chopped onion and a small amount of melted butter. I omitted the caraway seed. I deglazed the pan I browned the ribs in, then poured some of that rich liquid over the ribs. This was a nice meal, which I served with boiled new potatoes. Once again, however, this proved that there are limited instances where a slow cooker does a better job than conventional cooking methods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was a delicious and simple recipe. My husband loves pork & kraut but I never have cared for it. I followed the directions with the exception of putting rosemary on the pork roast instead of caraway seeds. The broth changed the flavor of the sauerkraut somewhat which made me like. It was a bit more mellow. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States