Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
from schuylkill county, pa........ but mom/nan always added a can of beer, short ribs & hot dogs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frjim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I have made this for many years. Mine is a little different. I add a fresh apple, cut up to the sour kraut, along with a tablespoon or two of dark brown sugar (you can adjust to taste). Simmer until the apple turns mushy; mash the apple with the back of a fork, and then discard the skin. It almost makes applesauce out of the apple (sometimes, in a pinch, I use applesauce). I make mashed potatoes (usual way) and serve the sauerkraut on top (yes, on top of) of the mashed potatoes and the pork on top of the sauerkraut. OMGoodness, it is to die for. You can't eat enough!!! It has always gotten rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Instead of using the pork loin roast, I used kilbasa and it was great. The kilbasa was so tender you didn't need a knife and it tasted wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
It is very good. Something is missing though. I have no idea what but for a dish that wants to be sweet & sour the flavour is muddled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and added more sauerkraut and a sliced up apple. Will definitely make again, but will wait until an hour before it's ready to add in the apple. I added my apple three hours into the cooking time, as suggested, and my apples were mush. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
My family loves this! Super quick & easy, but you better love sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
My PA Dutch family has eaten pork and sauerkraut every New Year's for generations. Once you try this recipe, you'll never do it any other way. Perfectly easy, unbelievably delicious. My family likes a little more sauerkraut, so I use two cans per pork loin. I also substituted Libby's Bavarian Sauerkraut. It's milder and sweeter and already has the caraway in it. A huge hit with these pork and kraut connoisseurs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is not a recipe that I would usually make...It just sounded different so I tried it...It is fantastic, not the best recipe to look at but if you can get by the drab appearence, the flavor is out of this world..the only thing I did different was I got lazy and added four cleaned hardball size red potatoes and let them cook in the beer and oh were they good, cut up with a little butter and some of the juice on them. This is a great recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was so much better than expected!! I used just a 2 lb pork loin (there are only 2 of us) but left the amount of sauerkraut the same. I also added two Granny smith apple and two TBSP of Brown Sugar. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We love sauerkraut but we did not like this at all. The taste of the sauerkraut overpowered the taste of the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States