Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
My husband ate it while I was at a meeting, but I couldn't bring myself to try it. He didn't want it again so the dogs got to eat the rest. I was disappointed. It was dry and not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
What a delicious and easy meal. I left it in the crockpot longer since I was at work all day, and the pork got so tender it broke apart. I also threw in a couple bay leaves for added flavor. We had it with mashed potatoes on the side. This is a great cold weather meal but would also be good in the summer since it's so easy and doesn't heat up the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
this was great--very yummy--I prepared it in my crock pot-- a sure dish to make again---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I followed the recipe, added 1/2 onion, another 1 c. sauerkraut, cooked it on high for 3.5 hrs...and served it with some seasoning salt & dijon mustard ....was TASTY... i loved it & so did my hubby. It has a mild flavor, so it might not suit you if you like zesty. But, still.. i really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
must serve with apple butter and rye bread.the longer you cook it the more tender it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
YUM! Made me feel like I was back in Pennsylvania again. My mom would would also brown the pork first and add 1/2 of an onion, thinly sliced and approx. 1 to 2 tablespoons of barbecue sauce to the sauerkraut. It adds a smokey flavor and a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
MY HUSBAND IS A SOURKRAUT FREAK SO THIS WENT OVER BIG. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPIE EXACTLY UP UNTIL THE COOKING TIME AS WE WERE PRESSED FOR TIME SO I JACKED UP THE TEMP ON THE SLOW COOKER TO HIGH FOR ABOUT 3 1/2 HOURS AND I THOUGHT IT WAS PERFECT, IT LITERALLY FELL APART. MY HUSBAND THOUGHT IT COULD HAVE BEEN DONE EARLIER EVEN AS HE THOUGHT IT WAS A BIT DRY, BUT I LIKED IT. WILL DEFINITLY PUT IT IN THE ROTATION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
WE are from PA and love pork and sauerkraut. I buy the WHOLE boneless pork loin, and cut it in half, and use what I need depending on how many are eating here. I do NOT brown it, but I do add 1 - 2 apples, cored, w/ skin on and cut into wedges and about 2 - 3 T brown sugar after I add the sauerkraut, that I do NOT drain. I also like to add homemade hot sausage in the roaster. I bake mine covered -- and I like to do it very slow and at a low temp....starting off at 300 and reducing to 250. YUM YUM!!!!! We also like ours w/ mashed potatoes and applesauce!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I thought this was good.....I took the advice of other reviewers and browned my tenderloin. I also really spiced up the recipe with garlic, salt and pepper. It was great with mashed potatoes. The house smelled great while it was cooking. I would try with a pork roast next time I think the added fat would do wonders for the end taste. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Good Recipe, Everyone liked the flavor. I did add 1/2 can of Beer to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States