Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Great recipe. Like others, I added 1/2 cup of beer, and a little brown sugar. This time I used a 2 pound pork loin and cooked for about 3 hours. The pork was falling apart!! Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Fantastic! Great with the apples. The pork was wonderfully tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
We made some changes to this and it was wonderful! First of all, we left out the carraway seeds because I didn't think my husband would like their flavor. Second, we added 2 granny smith apples and about a 1/2 cup of beer. The result was fabulous! The pork was so tender. We will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I followed other reviewer's advice and added 2 sliced Granny Smith apples and 2 Tbsp of brown sugar. My husband and I loved it. The pork was so tender and the saurkraut so good. I'll make this again - in fact, it will be our New Year's Day dinner going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This was really good, the pork was super tender. I work all day so I throw it all in the pot, put it on low and it sits for ten hours until I get back home. I liked the taste of the caraway seeds, and I did add a Granny Smith apple as suggested by other reviewers, but didn't have any beer to add. The bf the kraut-lover, was dissapointed that the apple took away the sour from the sauerkraut, (which was the point), so I may try it without the apple next time. A good, really easy recipe, good wish mashed potatoes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This is a really good comfort food recipe. The trick may be in the sauerkraut, buy it in the jar/bag in the refrigerator section of your grocery store. The local brand that I buy is Claussen, the kraut in a can just can't compare. I prepared the recipe as written, adding only a little brown sugar as suggested by previous reviewers. Next time, and there will definately be a next time, I'll try adding the apples. I served this with steamed carrots, rolls, and green salad. The pork roast was so tender and juicy it fell apart and the sauerkraut was excellent. Thank you for a really easy tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Wonderful recipe, thank you Kathie. Modifications include adding the brown sugar, thoroughly rinsing the sauerkraut, adding a bottle of dark beer and omitting the caraway seeds for my fussy husband. I added only one apple, next time I will add at least one more as they turned out so yummy. This one goes into the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I went looking for a recipe for pork and sauerkraut to see if I was missing any ingrediants in my recipe that I've been making on New Years Day every year for 25 years. Well, here is my recipe! The only changes I make personally is that I start the stuff on New Years Eve before we go to bed and let it cook all night and all day before we eat it. I add brown sugar to take the bite away from the kraut (about 2 tablespoons). The longer it cooks, the better. It gets nice and browned and my family loves this once a year treat. We serve with mashed potatoes and applesauce and dinner rolls. This is THE lucky New Years Day dish to be served for good fortune. Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Delicious!! I took the advice of others and added a Granny Smith apple and 1/2 can of beer. Very tender and moist. Will be making this again today for our good luck New Year's Day dinner! Thanks for the recipe Kathie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I loved this, so simple and turned out so delicious. I used a very cheap cut pork roast too. I used a few more caraway seeds and next time I'll add more sauerkraut because it was so yummy. I'll making this next for New Year's Day, need all the good luck I can get!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States