Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
My husband liked this a lot. I halved the recipe, added a granny smith apple, added hard cider (instead of beer) and did not halve the caraway seeds. I thought it was a little bland, but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
we enjoyed the taste of caraway in this recipe. the 2 lb. boneless center cut roast i cooked came out tender but was on the dry side (what i had in my freezer, next time i'll stick with the recommended pork loin roast). thankfully the juicy sauerkraut helped to keep the meat moist while we ate. this kind of dish tastes better when made a day ahead & serves well with mashed potatoes. thanks kathie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I like using the crock pot about once a week, and this recipe was outstanding! I ate about 2 portions due to how much I enjoyed it. I did add brown sugar, beer, and Granny Smith Apples like other reviewers had mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Very moist and tasty. It just needed a little something extra. I'll try the apple next time. Did taste better the next day though. I'll definitely keep it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This recipe is pretty good! The pork was moist and it pulled apart nicely. Like others I added 2 chopped granny smith apples (no sugar). I also added 1 12 oz can of coke. Next time I won't add salt to the meat as it was a tad too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN1YNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homebush Bay, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Good recipe, but I will add brown sugar next time to sweeten it up. I didn't particularly like the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was great. We're not even fans of sauerkraut, but the meat was soooo tender and delish! Seasoned the roast with seasoned salt and pepper and browned in a little olive oil first. Added an apple and brown sugar as per previous reviewers; also about 1/2 a white onion and some thyme leaves. Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Well, it only took me 30 years to find the definitive receipe for pork and sauerkraut...this recipe is great!! I followed the advice of many of the other reviewers on here by adding 2 large, sliced, granny smith apples, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, and 2 16-ounce jars of sauerkraut. My crock pot seems to need extra help with roasts, so I cooked mine for roughly six hours on low with an additional four hours on high. The meat was falling-apart-tender, and the kraut had just the right amount of sweet and sour to it...served this with garlic mashed potatoes. Looking forward to the leftovers tonight! Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe was an unqualified success for us. Last year I tried the Overnight Pork Roast With Cabbage and was quite disappointed, but I did love the rub that that recipe uses. So, this year, I used that rub and then just put the roast in the slow cooker with the sauerkraut. The roast was falling apart tender! What an incredibly delicious and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
As a chef/caterer, I was looking for a stress free, traditional New Years meal. I was exhausted after the busy holiday season. Not a crockpot fan, but decided to take a chance on this recipe, because of all the positive reviews. You were right! It's a keeper. I also added apple & beer, but no caraway...husband hates it. I would think that it would really enhance the dish though. I also made horseradish mashed potatoes. Yummy! Will make this every New Years day and more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States