Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
In our family, we drained and rinsed the sauerkraut first to remove a lot of the salt. Then the kraut is cooked with some chopped onion, some peeled and chopped apple, a bay leaf -- and a small handful of peppercorns. The onions soften in the cooking while the apple disappears (or is mashed into the kraut when really softened). Try peppercorns instead of caraway seeds! And, yes, I've eaten pork and sauerkraut on New Year's Day almost without exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I've made this the last 2-3 years for New Years day, it is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Really delicious. I received lots of good feedback on it from those who tried it. Strange as it may seem, I made the following alterations: Rinsed the sauerkraut, added a sweet apple cut into slices, seasoned the pork with garlic salt and pepper and added one cup apple juice, one cup water to the cooker. The meat was so tender that by the sixth hour it fell apart when I put the meat thermometer in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Great recipe. Didn't use caraway, added granny smith apples and brown sugar but next time I'll try using beer as it seems like it would work nicely. My husband doesn't like sauerkraut but liked the recipe anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I felt like I was back in PA for the New Year. Thanks for the great recipe! I loved the flavor of the caraway seeds and used two Granny Smith apples and 2 T. brown sugar as previously recommended. I also added dumplings on top during the last few minutes of cooking... 1 1/3 c. flour, 1/2 t. salt (cannot omit), 2 t. baking powder, 1 egg, and 1/2 c. milk. You cannot have sauerkraut without dumplings in PA. Most tender pork roast I have ever cooked and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My husband ate HALF of this - he LOVED it! The whole family dug in...the pork fell apart with a fork. Added the onion and a couple of diced Macintosh apples per other reviews. Served w/mashed potatoes. Excellent results w/almost zero effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have never been able to make a pork roast tender and perfect but this recipe does it! I was planning on adding apples, but at the last minute realized we were all out. Trust me the roast is still great without it! I added the caraway seeds and they gave it a great flavor! In addition to what the recipe called for, I added about two cups of water (maybe because my slow cooker is so large). It cooked all day, and I just stole a bite and it is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I have made this several times now but do a few things differently. I usually brown some chopped proscuitto (or bacon) with onions in a fry pan (really let the onions brown!) and add that to the kraut. Also grate an apple and a potato into the kraut to thicken the kraut juice and temper the sour a bit. Throw it all in the crock pot and serve with mashed potatoes--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This recipe is so good and so easy to make. The pork loin was moist too! I drained all the juice from the kraut and added a whole bottle of Coors Light Beer. I also added some brown sugar(2 Tablespoons) as some suggested. I like Caraway seed so I left that in the recipe. I served this incredible dish with mash potatoes. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I enjoyed eating it in 100 degree temp too!!!!! Can't wait until Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Neither I, nor my boyfriend liked this. I added 1/2 a beer and some brown sugar, and although it was a good diet dinner, the leftovers rotted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States