Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Thanks to previous reviewers' suggestions, I made the following modifications: used garlic salt instead of regular salt, added 1/2 tsp. thyme, sauteed an onion in a little olive oil and added to sauerkraut mixture, also added a shredded carrot and 2 T. brown sugar. The sauerkraut was not sour tasting due to the brown sugar and the carrot, which also added some needed color. Without these modifications, it would not have been as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
really tasty and easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I will not be making this recipe again. I was hopeing this was going to taste like my Mom's, but not even close. She makes the REAL German stuff....this tasted too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My husband and I are both from PA so we have had many different varieties of "pork and kraut" but this is by far our favorite! I, too, added the granny smith apple, onion, and brown sugar to my kraut. It is just a great variation to an old-time favorite! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made your dinner a few days ago and we really liked it. Thank you for letting me see your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe and added a chopped apple as per some other suggestions. However, we did not enjoy this meal. Perhaps we're not used to the cooked sauerkraut. We love sauerkraut but may not cooked. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I love sauerkraut and hotdogs, so I thought I would love this, but the meat was very odd. It was tender, not dry, but so soft that it just didn't seem right. I did add the brown sugar, onion and apple, so the sauerkraut flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyburb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Good and easy but not our favorite. We added mustard, brown sugar, green peppers and some granny smith apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Here's how I tweaked the recipe: omitted: caraway seeds (didn't have any) added: 2 skinned, cored and diced Royal Gala apples and 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar per other reviewers' suggestions cooked: 8 hours on low LOVED the results. The meat was tender and juicy. I've found that pork tends to be dry when cooked in the slow cooker, but no such issue here. This was a staple in my home on New Year's Day growing up (Pennsylvania Dutch father!) and this brought back great memories. Served with mashed potatoes and applesauce. Thanks Kathie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Super. I made a few changes though. We did not use a pork roast, we used hot dogs and smoked sausage. For one package hot dogs and 8 sausage we used 2 cans sauerkrat, 2 T brown sugar, 1 onion sliced thin, 1/2 t caraway seeds, 2 t bbq sauce, 2 apples, quarted. We sauteed the onion in evo, added the brown sugar, bbq sauce and seeds. After they are cooked I added sauerkraut, mixed together, and placed in slow cooker along with meat. Cooked on low for 2 hours, added the apples and cooked 3 hours more. Very good taste. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States