Slow Cooker Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
My grandmother is German and my SO spent a few years living in Germany, and this dish got their seal of approval. I wasn't thrilled with how mushy the apples got, next time I will add them later in the process. I would also add a little beer to the chicken broth for a bit of an extra kick. I didn't drain off too much of the sauerkraut juice either because I like the kick. Definitely serve with rye bread, kaiser rolls are too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This came out really great! I had to change the servings (cooking for 1 with a few leftovers, and the original would have had me eating this for several weeks!) and used just a can of kraut. Probably a bit too much, but it gave GREAT flavor. I'm sure I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My husband and I really loved this stew! A lot of reviewers were so concerned about potatoes not cooking they put the potatoes on the bottom. We layered the ingredients as described in the recipe with the potatoes on top and the potatoes cooked perfectly. We'll be doing this recipe again. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I love, love, love this recipe and will not/would not change anything ....recommend you make this dish exactly as it is suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I cut kielbasa slices in half and put all on the bottom. I didn't have an apple, so I substituted apple cider for the chicken broth. I used 3/4 bag of cabbage and carrot bagged coleslaw (without the dressing) instead of sauerkraut topped with half onion diced. Added cracked pepper on top of bite size potato pieces. Skipped the caraway seeds. 4 hours on low. Next time I'll add some garlic I think for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I thought I'd make this while I was at work. 4 hours on high means it should be ok for 8 hours on low, right? Wrong! Everything got a little "dark", including the potatoes. I read in another post the potatoes also turned brown when cooked at the recommended time and temp. It still tasted ok, but it didn't look anything like the picture. I may try this one more time but mix the layer up so the potatoes are closer or in the water as well as cook it at the recommended time and temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I made this without the saurkraut. Though I added a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar to substitute the vinegar-ness. Also added some asparagus. It was good, not overly flavorful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Good flavor. Wasn't a fan of the texture of the kielbasa after it was cooked though - a little mushy. Think I may cook it for a little less time next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Minkler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious...especially on a cold, cold night. The only thing I changed was that I used fennel seeds instead of caraway seeds based on personal taste. Otherwise, I followed it exactly and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was wonderful, and other than peeling the potatoes, it was not difficult or time consuming. My husband isn't much for sauerkraut, but he enjoyed the polish sausage and potatoes. I loved it and there are plenty of left overs since there's just 2 of us. The swiss cheese was a nice touch. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States