Slow Cooker Kielbasa Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
pretty darn good, everyone liked it, put potatoes on bottom but still took longer than recommended cooking time. Smelled great, tasted good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Very tasty. Good crockpot meal. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I'm not a big fan of sauerkraut so I only used half of what it called for and it turned out really good. I don't know if I would like it with even more in it. I made it because my husband really likes sauerkraut and he too said that was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I like sauerkraut but this was a bit too much for me. However, everything else was very good, very tasty. I substituted turkey sausage for the saugage the recipe calls for with good results. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Delicious!Made it without changing anything and everyone really enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was WAY too sour! My husband, who is of German descent, really liked this, but it was not my cup of tea. This needed much less sauerkraut than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Great 'Comfort Food' I used Polish Sausage and a big tin of sauerkraut layered twice. Suggest using more apple and caraway than recipe calls for and the next time I'm going to try and use some of the sauerkraut juice as part of the liquid as we like the sourness of the kraut. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
My husband and I absolutely loved this dish!! We did not rinse the saurkraut because we really like the tartness and we added a little black pepper. I think next time I may add a cup of dark beer like Guiness in place of one of the cups of stock--I think this would be really good. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Good concept poor execution on my part. Loved the sausage could have added about 50% more. Used 2 lbs unpeeled baby red potatoes and layered on bottom as suggested...this worked great. Apple rings were a little hard to slice, would just cut chunks next time and probably add more apples too, wouldn't bother peeling next time. The apple flavor got lost with all the kraut and onion. I would add some apple cider to the broth next time or cut it maybe 50/50. This is a delicate recipe and is easy to over cook, which I did, so the apples dissappeared into mush. Would recommend adding the apples closer to the end next time to keep them crisp. Forgot to put the cheese on top -- I thought something was missing! I used Bavarian style kraut and it was certainly less pungent especially after rinsing... enough so that my picky kids ate a bowlful. Will try this one again making a few alterations. For me time listed is a definitely the maximum, this is more of a 1/2 day recipe than an all day recipe. Doesn't get better with extra cooking time. With more apple flavor and crisper veggies/fruit this could be 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This is really good! The kraut flavor is not too strong - just right. i also changed the order in which I layered the ingrediants in the slow cooker, putting the potatos on the bottom, 1/2 of the sausage next, then kraut, then the rest of the sausage, aplles, and then the onions. I also only used half of the potato called for. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States