Slow Cooker Italian Chicken Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was yummylicious and so easy that my 15 yr. old said he wanted to try to make it! WARNING: Please do not add seasoned salt as the other reviewer suggested until you make the recipe as directed! This was seasoned perfectly as written. Added the minced garlic to the dressing and poured over breasts, moving them slightly to make sure they're nicely coated. Cooked chicken 4 hrs. as directed and mine were actually done by that time. Softened the cream cheese in microwave for 30 sec. in a bowl and then blended the soup. Took the chicken out and poured the soup mixture in the crockpot w/ the juice from the chicken, mixing thoroughly and then replaced the chicken back. OMGsh, it was so good that we didn't even wait for me to cook the noodles. Anyway, saved the rest for the next day and it reheated beautifully. Maybe I'll be able to actually get some noodles cooked to go w/ it today--LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've been making this chicken for years, with a few minor changes. No water is needed. DON'T add any extra salt as a previous reviewer suggested, it'll be WAY too salty. Sometimes I'll splash in a little white wine at the end, and I use sliced mushrooms, not chopped. We serve it over egg noodles, and the whole family loves it. It's delicious, and yes, rich, but you don't eat like this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was wonderful. I made a few changes though. I used cream of chicken and mushroom soup instead and fresh mushrooms. I also added a bit of water to the sauce for a but thinner sauce. When dropping the chicken in crockpot, make sure to season the meat as well with a bit of seasoning salt. My kids loved this over pasta with a big green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsJames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I made this for dinner last night with only a few changes and my picky family loved it! I didn't have a garlic clove, so I mixed in 1/4 tsp of granulated garlic with the dressing mix/water. I added mushroom soup instead of chicken because I did not have mushrooms. For the last hour of cooking, I shredded the chicken and added more water to make more of a gravy. It turned out beautifully and was delicious over noodles. I even used nonfat cream cheese and thought overall it was a pretty healthy and delicious recipe with no butter oil, or cheese needed like the traditional alfredo! Thanks for a yummy keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Going to have to agree with everyone here and say the sauce was the real show stopper. Creamy and so full of flavor. I'm a garlic junkie and actually used a handful of cloves and I used fat free cream cheese and low fat or fat free...can't remember which...cream of chicken soup to make it a little less fattening. Turned out great. I also used a bunch of fresh mushrooms...many more than 4.5 ounces, as my boyfriend and I both love them. Also added cracked black pepper to taste and topped with shaved Parmesan cheese. This dinner was so easy...will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was good, my kids (4 and 6) both liked it. This is a ton of sauce, though. I don't like real 'saucy' dishes, so I would make this recipe for about 2 LBS of spaghetti next time. This time I dished it up separately, cooked spaghetti then dribbled with sauce. When we were done, I cooked up lots more spaghetti to combine with the sauce before storing leftovers. Changes I made to recipe: -Used only 2 chicken breasts -Removed chicken from cooking liquid and set aside, then mixed in soup/crm cheese for sauce. -Diced chicken and returned it to cooking sauce. -Added 1 cup green peas to sauce, next time will add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
So good and everyone loved it in my family which is hard to do. :-) I like more sauce so I did add extra can of cream mushrom. Also didn't have italian dressing mix so just used some italian viniagrette dressing I had, 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Thank you for this simple recipe. It's very quick and gives me, the husband, an opportunity to show his culinary prowess. I made no variations other than an accidental switch from cream of chicken to cream of mushroom (purchased the wrong can at the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This recipe was great-followed it exactly. It was cheap to make and it lasted the whole week. Will definetly make this over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
DH loved it. Cooked for less time due to size of the chicken beasts. Also added blush wine for extra liquid in the sauce. "Good Stuff!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States