Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was so delicious! My husband said this is his new favorite dish. I did make a few alterations. As others suggested; I used a chuck roast instead of rump roast and I did two packets of mix. I only used about 2.5 lbs of meat since it's only the two of us, but kept the ingredient amount the same. Instead of using water, I used 2 cups chicken broth (it's all I had) and 1 cup water. I'm going to try beef broth next time, but the chicken broth worked just fine. After about 8 hours; I shredded the beef, removed the big hunks of fat, and threw in an onion (cutting the onion into long strips) and cooked for an additional 2 hours. After the two hours I sauted some bell peppers, still letting the meat cook for about another 30 minutes or so, taking my time knowing that longer cooking time means tastier meat. Once the bell peppers were ready, I put the meat on a french roll along with the peppers (and a few fresh banana peppers) some sharp provolone cheese and broiled in the oven for about a minute, just to get the cheese melted. For anyone who tried the meat at 8 hours like I did, do not judge the meat yet. It was good, but I was unimpressed (and actually a little nervous it wouldnt be good) until after the shredded beef simmered for at least 2 more hours. I kept the slow cooker on "keep warm" and snacked on the meat the rest of the evening and it just got better and better. I didn't even use a fork at one point haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I think this has been reviewed enough times to make it clear what makes this recipe work: double the salad dressing mix (use the Italian salad dressing mix recipe on allrecipes!), and add a beef bouillon cube (I only use one- this can get really salty, really fast). A couple more thoughts: I use onion and garlic powder (not onion salt or garlic salt), again because the salt can get to be a bit much. The other big change I make is, I use a nice meaty soup bone in place of the roast. I've never used anything but the soup bone so I can't make a comparison, but I can say that the soup bone yields a lovely, rich stock for this recipe. I serve it on a crusty Italian bread or baguette, sometimes with spinach sautéed in garlic and oil, and always with hot peppers ("hoagie mix" or "hoagie spread" here in PA). Makes for an excellent meal that freezes beautifully! We have this once a week and look forward to it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I doubled the Italian dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Double Italian dressing. Use beef broth instead of water. Used 3.5 chuck roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have made this and along with others substituted the beef broth instead of water but I used the low sodium beef broth. The beef turned out perfect and shredded very easily and after shredding it left it in the juice for another hour. As far as the peppers, I cook them on the stove separately with olive oil, garlic powder, and oregano. I leave them covered and cook in their own juices and stir occasionally until they soften up and ready to put on the beef sandwich. The next time I make this will put them under the broiler with cheese to make cheesy beefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
My changes: 3 cups beef broth in place of water, 2 packets dry Italian dressing, and added some hot peppercini and some juice (didn't measure). I cooked on low 7 hours then turned crockpot to high, shredded meat, replaced meat in pot for an hour. THAT made all the difference in my humble opinion. Made this way (as well as suggested by prev reviews) gave the meat a fantastic flavor! I plated the beef topped with sautéed bell peppers & onions, and provolone. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Used a 2.5 lb roast for 6 sandwiches. Same ingredients otherwise. Easy and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
only thing I do differently is substitute a 10oz can of both beef consume and french onion soup for two cups of water. incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I used 2.5 pound roast and the full amount of spices and the meat just didn't have any Italian flavor to it. It was bland pot roast on bun with good melted cheese. Doubt I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States