Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Delicious and so easy. I used a rump roast because removing the fat was easier for me. I just broke the meat up instead of actually shredding, then added the meat back into the juice. I served it out of the crock pot, but had the oven on so they could throw it in the oven to toast the bread and melt the cheese. I did use two packets of Italian dressing and beef broth instead of water. It's a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
FANTASTIC! ...and oh man, the aroma is mouth-watering! Made this for my father for Father's Day, he proclaimed this one of the best ever sandwiches! I did use most of the suggestions by the reviewer 'MomSavedbyGrace'. The end result was a moist Italian Beef that tasted restaurant gourmet! Thank you, thank you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was Awesome. I made this for my family yesterday and they absolutely loveed it. I followed the recipe to the letter and came out perfect. My daughter wouldn't quit raving about them and my wife said good thing football season is coming up because these are on the menu for all the games. I will absolutely be making this again. I give it 5 stars only because there are no 10 star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Wonderful. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I give it a 4 but DH gives it a 2 thus the 3 star rating. DH likes things with LOTS of flavor and this meat has a mild flavor. Not bland, just mild. I made it specifically to make cheese steaks so the mild flavor was perfect for me with caramelized onions, mushrooms, and cooper sharp cheese! YUM - but if you want lots of flavor you should probably look for another recipe or maybe add some hot peppers and juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Used a 2.5 lb roast as suggested with the same amount of spices/other ingredients. 4 stars as is. Added a couple of sliced jalapenos from the garden after the meat was shredded and it made a HUGE difference. SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I thought this was bland. My chuck roast was just over 2-1/2 pounds, but I used all the measurements of ingredients for five pounds as called for in the recipe. I took the advice of some others and omitted the salt. Beef broth was used in place of water, and I used two packets of salad dressing mix. It cooked on low for about 8-1/2 hours. I then took out the meat to shred, and found that it was very bland - tasted like a regular beef roast to me. I added the salt plus more garlic powder, oregano, and pepperoncini (about 4 mild with juice), then cooked it on low for about another hour. It was much better after that, but there is still something missing. Next time I make this (and I WILL make it again), I will add hotter pepperoncini right at the beginning, and maybe add a little crushed red pepper. I'll also double up on all the seasonings. Maybe there was too much liquid for this size roast? Maybe my seasonings are too old? This recipe has a lot of potential. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this twice now. The first time, I made it exactly as written… The second time, I took advice from other reviewers- No salt, beef broth instead of water, chuck roast, two packages of zesty Italian seasoning. I am just not impressed, no matter what I do. To me, it doesn't taste like an italian beef at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Follow all the recommendations you'll find here to zing this up a little, use beef chuck roast, double the spices, and cook in broth instead of water. My one caution is to be careful about the salt levels when doing all of that, because you might end up over-salting a bit like I did. Next time I will go for reduced sodium beef broth and skip as much salt as possible in the spices (for instance, probably can't do much about the Italian dressing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this an gonna make it again, me an my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States