Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
made this exactly as written but with a london broil. wonderful! will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made this as written except used chuck roast (with most of the fat removed) and onion powder versus onion salt. Served it with a little of the au jus on the side for dipping rather putting too much juice on the bun. Very easy, very good. Can see were adding peppers, onions cheese, pepperoncini would all be tasty additions. Topped pepperoncini slices to sandwiches. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
THis was stupendous! Here are my adjustments after reading all of the comments: 2.5 chuck roast beef broth instead of water no salt onion powder instead of onion salt 1 1/2 Italian dressing packets I heated everything but the roast and let it cool, then marinated it overnight and placed it in the slow cooker yesterday morning, letting it cook on low for 11 hours. I took it out and shredded the meat and put it back in the slow cooker and threw in some sliced peppropncinis and let it go for another hour. I heated up the rolls in aluminum foil at 300° for about 5 minutes then removed the foil, turned up the temperature to 400°, added horseradish cheese and melted the cheese. I then loaded up the rolls (that I got from a nearby Italian restaurant) and topped with sliced sweet peppers and roasted red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Sorensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This recipe was a big hit with the whole family, even my pickiest eater. We served it on Italian rolls with sauteed onions, garlic and assorted bell peppers. I added a little horseradish sauce while my husband preferred deli mustard. Hearty and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snickerdoodley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Easy to make, and wonderfully seasoned. My husband now insists we have this at LEAST twice a month and even my picky eater enjoys it. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgaCobra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fairmount, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe except I cooked a 3 pound bottom round for three hours on high, removed and refrigerated. Once it was cold I sliced it with a meat slicer as thinlly as I could without shredding it. Before serving I reheated the reserved cooking juices. I then dipped the sliced meat into the hot juice to reheat before placing on buns. I then dunked the whole sandwich bun and all into the juice before topping with giardinera I bought in a jar. Almost as good as Johnnies Italian beef we ate when we visited Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
My husband and I really liked this recipe, made really good sandwiches and was good for leftovers. I felt like this something was missing, maybe needed more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
When I first started making this I was a little skeptical because of how easy it was. I was happy to find out it is a great recipe! It is nice to put on bread with peppers and I put a little toasted cheese on mine. It was very tasty and I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njviau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Ok Im from Chicago and I miss beef sandwiches trust me they are awesome..so I thought lets make it first off the seasoning is way off nothing like a good beef sandwich and chuck? No you use top round but cooking as long as the recipe states is so wrong and it should NEVER be shredded. The proper way is onion&garlic powder,Italian seasoning, salt & Pepper. Coat the meat in a 13x9 pan pour in 2 cups of water and 4 beef boullion cubes/or beef base roast it in a 400 oven 30 min per pound, take out chill the meat overnight or at least 4 hours. Save the "gravy" Slice meat paper thin then reheat in the juice do NOT leave it in there more then 10 min or it will become like leather. Thats Italian Beef I really wanted this recipe to be good that I tried but it failed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States