Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have made this and along with others substituted the beef broth instead of water but I used the low sodium beef broth. The beef turned out perfect and shredded very easily and after shredding it left it in the juice for another hour. As far as the peppers, I cook them on the stove separately with olive oil, garlic powder, and oregano. I leave them covered and cook in their own juices and stir occasionally until they soften up and ready to put on the beef sandwich. The next time I make this will put them under the broiler with cheese to make cheesy beefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
My changes: 3 cups beef broth in place of water, 2 packets dry Italian dressing, and added some hot peppercini and some juice (didn't measure). I cooked on low 7 hours then turned crockpot to high, shredded meat, replaced meat in pot for an hour. THAT made all the difference in my humble opinion. Made this way (as well as suggested by prev reviews) gave the meat a fantastic flavor! I plated the beef topped with sautéed bell peppers & onions, and provolone. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Used a 2.5 lb roast for 6 sandwiches. Same ingredients otherwise. Easy and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
only thing I do differently is substitute a 10oz can of both beef consume and french onion soup for two cups of water. incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I used 2.5 pound roast and the full amount of spices and the meat just didn't have any Italian flavor to it. It was bland pot roast on bun with good melted cheese. Doubt I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
One of first recipes made living on my own, easy and good taste. Added cheese and hot giardiniera to mine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Kazmierski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Amazing!! I took the suggestions and used chuck roast instead and I'm glad I did! What I didn't know is how many this would feed, by using 5 lbs of chuck I hope it would feed 12+ people and it did but using small hoagies. Thanks for this awesome recipe! Oh! I also did not have bay leaves so left it out and didn't notice!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Almost perfect.. one little difference. Add 1-2 TBL chili powder and use beef broth instead of water. Now that's Italian Beef!!! You cannot find Italian Beef anywhere else except in/near Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
My husband couldn't get enough, and he always raves about how NO ONE can replicate a true Chicago Italian beef. This recipe proved him wrong. Absolutely perfect. I recommend using a smaller roast and subbing the beef bouillon for the water as advised in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States