Slow Cooker Island Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We liked this well enough, but it was surprisingly bland. We served over brown rice. I liked all the veggies in there, but I'm not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
it was really good & a nice change from the usual stew meat kind of foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was so yummy! I was looking for crockpot meals we could freeze, so I took all of the ingredients (except rice) and split between two gallon freezer bags. I thawed one bag last night, and it cooked all day and is so delicious! I was worried the pineapple wouldn't still be sweet but it was. The beef got a little dry, but that is my fault we got home later than usual! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was the best beef stew I've ever had! I did add carrots and potatoes, and instead of seasoned salt, I used Hawaiian Sea Salt. So good! This is going to be in my rotation for sure! To the person who said this had no flavor, maybe your paprika is outdated? Also the red wine vinegar is a must! You cannot sub another and get the same flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Although this smelled wonderful while it was cooking, as with most slow cooker recipes, I felt the flavors were a bit mild when it was done. I bumped it up with more vinegar, sugar and some ketchup and that seemed to help. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Makes a huge pot of food and is fairly easy. I followed the directions to a T and it smelled delicious while cooking all afternoon. I would not use stew meat next time - it was very tender but tasteless and this might've just been the batch I bought. Also was slightly bland so needs a little more spice for us. Otherwise enjoyable and would try it again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is the second time I've made this and it is delicious! I have used the stew meat once and London Broil once, both work great. I didn't find this bland at all but I did add some things. I used 4 cloves minced garlic instead of the powder. I browned my meat first in some olive oil with chopped onions, Worcestershire sauce, crushed red pepper flakes and 1 tsp of seasoned salt (then omitting the 3/4 teaspoon in the recipe) and fresh ground black pepper. Added that to the pot and followed the instructions also adding in some fresh minced ginger root , which is so wonderful with pineapple.I upped the paprika to one teaspoon and added more black pepper. When it was time to add the bell pepper, I added in the tomatoes also(2 big Romas peeled).Served over jasmine rice and added Sriracha at the table. Thank you for posting this easy and delicious recipe that can easily be adjusted to your taste preferences. A pleasing family meal! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Just realized that this recipe was published after I reviewed it as a personal recipe. It was so good that I want to review it here too. This is a great recipe. I couldn't stop eating it! I followed it as written. Thanks for sharing. I can't wait to try it again with company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is very good and simple to prepare. I modified the recipe slightly. I added chunks of fresh roma tomatoes an hour ahead of serving time along with peppers. I also used the remainder of the beef broth for liquid to cook the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Delicious and easy. This one is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States