Slow Cooker Hoppin' John Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Another great recipe for the slow cooker!!!!Perfect as is,just had crackers on hand and served them with this meal. Thanks so much!-Peggy in TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
We loved this! I cooked all ingredients (except the rice) as directed with the beef broth and no water added. I was afraid the rice would get "starchy" in the slow cooker all day. Just before serving I cooked the rice in beef broth, put a scoop in each soup bowl and topped with the peas. My husband and I ate on this all week long till the leftovers were gone. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This was very good! I used black beans instead of black-eyed peas and only 1 cup of rice. We served it with sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I added some smoked sausage, substituted one Hot Rotel for the regular (to spice it up) but didn't add the rice and served it New Year's Day for "good luck". Everyone loved it!!! My boyfriend even woke up for his midnight snack and had another bowl...will definitely serve this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This makes an enormous amount of food - to the top of the slow cooker! I would use frozen black eyed peas next time and low sodium beef broth to cut down on the salt content. Very filling and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Sorry to break the good streak here, but I really didn't like this. I was able to finish up the leftovers, so it's not a 1 rating, no. But it just seemed very bland, and even though I tried to start adding things to zing it up, it just never quite made it in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This was pretty bland and more like a soup or stew instead of chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I've changed the recipe a bit in that I don't cook the rice first, I use hot italian sausage instead of ground sirloin, and instead of diced tomatoes with green chiles I use diced tomatoes with jalepenos, plus sometimes some more for good measure. Way to spicey for me (heat can easily be regulated), but my husband loves it. I make up a big batch and freeze into meal size portions for him to take for lunch. Healthier and cheaper than a meal out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I'm afraid I don't see the need for putting this in a slow cooker for 6 hours. Everything is cooked and I would think that a 30 min slow simmer on top of the stove would blend the flavors perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I also added minced garlic and some creole seasoning because it seemed a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States