Slow Cooker Hoppin' John Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was great. I did keep the rice seperate, making just before serving because of personal tastes. I added some Cajun seasoning and tiny bit of chopped jalepeno for some zip. Super yummy and makes enough to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I didn't put this in the slow cooker and didn't think it was necessary. But I made quite a few changes of the amounts and the following ingredients: added elbow macaroni instead of rice, greek seasoning, italian seasoning. I also added more broth in place of the water. Without these changes, the recipe was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This stuff is GREAT! I make a 2 qt pot of this in winter for church supper and always get rave reviews and recipe requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Olive, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was ok, it was a little too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was a little concerned about this having much flavor with no spices or anything really, but it turned out amazing. I have to say I did change it up a little big. I did add one whole large green pepper. I used only two cans of beans in fear that it would be far too many beans. I added 3-4 diced garlic cloves and cooked them with the onions and beef. I also served it over rice instead of adding it to the crock pot. I don't really like my rice all soggy like that. It was amazing. I really really loved it so much. It was a nice meal for us on a cold winter night. Very hearty. I am looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZINELIZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This seemed really bland to me. It was not a very exciting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this as written, and though tasty, found a little hotsauce helped. Next time, I will add some cayenne or other of my fave spices to give just a little kick. I did layer on some fresh spinach in the last 20 minutes of cooking til just wilted, and mixed it in just before serving. Nice addition and the veggie is taken care of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was good, but could have used a little more depth of flavor. Maybe some additional seasonings?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Blackeyed peas can sometimes be bland. There's nothing bland about this recipe. It's delicious. I make it every New Year's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I agree, if you are using canned beans, no need for slow cooker, especially for six hours. Whenever we use the slow cooker, we always start with dried beans and add the ingredients we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States