Slow Cooker Hoppin' John Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I added sauteed onions & minced garlic to the mix, as well as garlic powder and italian seasonings. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was AWESOME!! I added celery and used Hot Italian Sausage, added the sage on my own. This was the tastiest black eyed peas dish I have ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
We loved it! I made it during a huge Rhode Island snowstorm and it was perfect for après shoveling! It's not a "fancy" dinner, but it sure is good comfort food. There were no leftovers...sadly. We will be making this again and again. Oh, the only change I made was to add about 1.5 cups chopped celery, only because I wanted to use it up. Thanks for the taste of the south!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made to take to church on New Yr's Day. It was delicious, it made LOTS and everything was gone! I didn't use canned black eyed peas. I cooked the dried peas in beef broth, with an onion and ham hock. Otherwise I followed recipe and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very hearty! Everyone enjoyed! Will become a winter regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
In the future, I will serve the rice separately as there was a lot of it. I ended up using 4 cans of peas to try to offset it. I did add Creole seasoning toward the end and most at my table added hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We made this for New Year's Day and really loved it! I read some earlier reviews and decided to leave out the rice. I made homemade sweet cornbread and spooned the BEPs over that. Raves from the family! The only tips I would give are to make sure and drain the ground beef thoroughly before putting it in the slow cooker, and the BEPs stood up well to leaving the cooker on for at least 10hrs, because we ate on this all day! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was so good and so easy! I used 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes, and added brown rice to the bowls before serving rather than adding rice to the slow cooker. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlavender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I cooked this for New Years and we really liked it. I used barley instead of rice. It was an accident but one that turned out for the best. I was not going to use instant rice and thought I was using long grain brown rice. I added a crushed tomato as well as the 2 cans of tomatoes with peppers. I also added a mixture of peppers I keep in the freezer instead of a green bell so it was a little warm but not too hot. I served it with cornbread. We shared with my brother and the thought the barley was good too. All in all we all loved it. I did pre cook the barley for 20 minutes but I won't next time I will just add more water as needed. Thanks for an interesting recipe to add to our New Years menu. ACE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Not enough zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver City, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States