Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was really good and painfully easy to make. I fried the chicken thighs in a non-stick pan with PAM so I didn't need the oil - other wise followed the recipe as written. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My husband thought it was delicious and ate two full servings, however, I wasn't too crazy about it. I guess I was hoping for more of a honey-garlic taste. I cut the chicken into chunks after it was cooked and served it over rice with steamed broccoli. I may try this again without the pineapple juice/chucmks and see what I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PuffNoodle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden Isles, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Very disappointing. The chicken turned out tough and dry, and the sauce was cloying. My wife and kids ate a few bites and wouldn't touch the rest. I finished mine, but admitted later that the recipe was not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This was great! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Wow, this dish is fabulous. It reminds me of terriaki chicken but with a heavier garlic taste to it. I made it with just 3 chicken breasts, because we didn't need any more than that. I made the full amount of sauce. I did brown my chicken in a frying pan sprayed with pam, however I believe that next time I will skip this part as it seems unnecessary. The chicken turns a nice brown color from the sauce so it seems odd to try to brown it first as well. I also did not have fresh ginger so I substituted 1 tsp of ground ginger. I also did not have a can of pineapple tidbits. So I just put in one small can of pineapple juice, I think it was about 6 oz. I also scooped out the little pieces of garlic before I put in my cornstarch mixture. I think that next time I will leave the garlic whole and that will make it easier to take out later. Of course this is just a personal preference not to have chunks of garlic in my sauce. That is all that I changed and it turned out great! I served it with white rice and put some of the sauce on the rice. My kids did not want to eat it at first, but after they tasted it they said it was good. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I served this with fried rice and salad. I made it for guests and everyone loved it!I left the bone in the thighs and did not change the cook tome. The meat fell right off the bone! I will serve this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Sorry, this wasn't to my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Mmmmmm. Served this to family and everyone enjoyed it - no leftovers. I used rice flour to thicken rather than corn starch (due to a corn allergy) and it worked wonderfully. Yummy and easy to prepare, chicken was soooo tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This turned out okay, my husband liked it, and he won't usually eat dark meat. The taste wasn't quite what I was expecting - a little too dark, somehow. I added more honey at the end, but it still didn't seem quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
We did not enjoy this recipe at all. The chicken was dry, and the sauce just wasn't what I expected, there was way too much honey for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States