Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was great! The family loved it for dinner. I made it as the recipe stated except I used fresh pineapple and added some minced onion. I was going to cook it in my slow cooker, but I used my electric skillet instead. I cooked it for a few hours. I used bone-in chicken thighs and breasts. The meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAHAWKINS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was amazing. I made this for my husband's birthday dinner party in the slow cooker. So easy. I forgot to add the pineapple tidbits before serving, but it was still amazing! Love it! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was very good. I used all chicken breasts and they came out so tender they were falling apart. I could barely get them out of the pot in one piece. Excellent with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was a hit in our family! I did not bother to brown the chicken like some reviewers said and it was fine. I also had run out of garlic so I just used about 1/2 tsp or so of garlic powder. My only complaint is that the chicken was a bit dry. Next time I may try bone-in thighs or try cooking boneless on low. Either way, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
It was a little sweet. May need a little spice to offset the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was a nice surprise in lieu of plain ol' chicken. As other reviewers stated I didn't brown the chicken. I also took others advice and put 1 C of rice in the bottom of the crockpot. Then I simply removed the skin and place the drumsticks over the rice; mixed the sauce and poured over all. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used a little less than 1 tsp of powder. I only had a can of pineapple chunks but that worked out just as well. Next time I do think I'll just make the rice separate. It would be much more appealing. The way I did it there's not much sauce at all; the rice absorbed all the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
More like terriaki chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was excellent. So easy to make too. Full of flavor. I served it with sushi rice and broccoli. I made it in an enamel cast iron pot. I browned the chicken on the stove top, added the rest of the ingredients and cooked it in the oven for 3 hours at 325. I will definitely make it again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I brined my chicken thighs in salt and granulated garlic for 24 hrs -- did not try to brown but just put in the slow cooker. If you brine first, then watch the salt -- use maybe 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead. I did the rest of the recipe as written and did cook on high in the slow cooker for 4 hours. The chicken was AWESOME esp over Jasmine rice. Very moist and tender! I had no problems thickening the sauce with the cornstarch slurry. You have to stir it for several minutes before it thickens. In fact, I like to get out the Braun hand blender and give the sauce a nice buzz -- it really thickens the gravy up. This is a wonderful comfort food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is great! The only change i made was to increase the garlic cloves to 5 and used powdered ginger. I didn't brown the chicken, just threw everything in the crockpot cooked on high for 3 hours and it was done! Great recipe, Tora - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States