Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was DELICIOUS! I also, had to modify it and only use what I had on hand. I used ginger powder instead of fresh ginger and I used pineapple juice (20 oz) because I didn't have the crushed pineapple but those were the only changes I made and I think the added juice made all he difference for adding moistness to the chicken. I made it with the Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews from this site and Jasmine rice and it was a HUGE hit! Better than most chinese takeout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
When I made the juicy part of the recipe, I thought it had the perfect punch until I added the forgotten pineapple juice. The flavor became too watered down--and I did use name-brand pineapple. I will definitely make it again but omit the pineapple. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was delicious! I went ahead and mixed all the ingredients up in the slow cooker before adding a 6lb whole chicken (skin removed.) I cooked it for one hour on high and four hours on low, flipping the chicken halfway through. I didn't brown my chicken or make gravy from the drippings. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by onegypsygirl
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
It was a huge success! Easy and delicious. I made the following changes: 1. I skinned the chicken and did not brown it. 2. I mixed the liquid ingredients in the crock pot. (Why dirty another bowl?) 3. I used 1/2 cup honey. (Hint: When measuring honey, spray the cup with non-stick spray and the honey will pour right out) 4. I used some red chili flakes for a touch of heat. 5. I used pineapple juice, but not chunks. 6. I added sliced scallions and fresh broccoli toward the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I used decreased the honey and soy sauce 1/2 cup also used tomato paste instead of ketchup. 1 measured 1 cup of pineapple juice. Flavor was terrific and had lots of great sauce. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very easy to make! I did adjust the recipe though based on other reviews. I did not brown the chicken first, I used bone in thighs and left out the ginger and pineapple, also used a little less honey so it wasn't overly sweet. I also wrapped the thighs in a strip of bacon =o) I cooked for 4 hours on high then about 30 minutes while I made my rice and veggies. Could definitely be made with boneless chicken breast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
So yummy, thanks for the recipe. 2 days ago I fixed this. I just dumped everything in the crock pot (except pineapple, cornstarch and water) with 10 frozen chicken thighs and 5 hrs. ( 2 hr. high 3hrs. low) later I added pineapple and we had an amazing dinner. I didn't do the corn starch and water until tonight and put the last 2 thighs in the sauce to simmer 'til warm. Can't wait to try it again and halve the recipe, just hubby and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Westlake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was absolutely amazing! I don't have my slow cooker so I baked in oven at 325 degrees F for about an hour. This was too long for the amount of chicken I used: 2 pounds of boneless skinless chicken tenderloins. So chicken got dried out but it still has terrific flavor. I also used half the amount of honey. I halved the whole recipe (so I used 1/4 of the amount of the called-for honey in the given recipe). This was SO good! I am excited to try in the slow cooker!!! Also, don't be afraid if you don't like ketchup; I don't like ketchup but I used it anyway (halved it like I halved the rest of the recipe) and it turned out great. King of a rich recipe, but really really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reinhard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Easy and delicious. I cut the recipe in half, and only did three thighs. I wished I cooked more, my kids were asking for more. I didn't have pineapple so I used half a can of peaches, and it worked well. Left out the ginger, cooked it on high for 3 hours and it was perfect. I added cornstarch and the sauce came out well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States