Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have made this twice now...once with and once without skin. The family all likes it better with the skin and finished in the broiler to give it a "sticky" finish. The texture is a bit weird without the finish in the broiler. Do not cook longer than recommended as I did the 1st time and it fell apart too much. Great recipe, Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorimia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I didn't bother browning the chicken first, but other than that I followed as written. My whole family loves this. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was not a good dinner at all. I followed the recipe as it said and added mushrooms, onions, and bell peppers. The chicken was too sweet for me and we had a frozen pizza instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
The sauce was fantastic, however the chicken was too dry and I cooked on high for 2 hours then low 1 hour. I used boneless chicken breasts and next will cook on low for 2 hours or check after an hour. I also added some sweet chili sauce to give it a little kick. I served with jasmine rice and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
i did not care for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is really good and I will definitely be making this again. I followed the directions exactly. I did use the chicken thighs and I did brown them. Make sure you use fresh ginger. The flavor is delicious. The only thing I will do differently next time is to decrease the time it is cooked in the slow cooker. I have a newer model slow cooker that is pretty big and since the thighs were browned and then put in mine were probably done in 2 hours on high and I cooked them for 3 before checking them and they were a little dried out. Other than that everyone loved this meal. I served it with broccoli and jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I couldn't get the sauce to thicken but the flavour was really good. I was craving more of a sticky thick honey garlic sauce but I will make this again since it tasted so good. I served it with rice and sauteed bean sprouts, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, and a corn starch, ground ginger, chicken stock sauce coating :D I think next time I will take the sauce and pan fry it to thicken it up and see if that makes it just right. I did not put pineapple anything in it and probably won't because I feared it would make it too much like sweet and sour sauce. Thank you for posting a yummy SLOW COOKER recipe! No can soups. haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My family tried this recipe tonight and it was soooo good:) Usually I don't like chicken thighs, but my mom gave me a big tray of them, and I don't like to waste food. I didn't have the pineapple, so I used juice from a can of mandarin oranges. I also omitted the ginger. To thicken up the sauce I whisked together equal parts of water/flour- 2Tbls of each with the sauce and brought it to a boil on the stove. When it was done, we couldn't even tell that they were chicken thighs (a good thing) the sauce compliments the meat very well. I served this with Basmati Rice and green peas. This recipe was loved by my hubby (pretty picky) my 11 year old son, and my 1.5 year old son. This is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I didn't have the pineapple, so I substituted homemade chicken stock for the reserved pineapple juice. I didn't have lite soy sauce and used the rest of the regular soy sauce I had, about 1/4 cup. I love garlic, so I used 6 cloves and halved them for easy removal later. Also used 1 tsp of ground ginger. Although I used so many substitutions, it was really good! I thickened with 4 tbsp cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeperathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was good. Like sweet and sour chicken. I removed the skin. I think this helps absorb the flavor and it reduces the amount of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States