Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have made this twice now...once with and once without skin. The family all likes it better with the skin and finished in the broiler to give it a "sticky" finish. The texture is a bit weird without the finish in the broiler. Do not cook longer than recommended as I did the 1st time and it fell apart too much. Great recipe, Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorimia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I didn't bother browning the chicken first, but other than that I followed as written. My whole family loves this. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was not a good dinner at all. I followed the recipe as it said and added mushrooms, onions, and bell peppers. The chicken was too sweet for me and we had a frozen pizza instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
The sauce was fantastic, however the chicken was too dry and I cooked on high for 2 hours then low 1 hour. I used boneless chicken breasts and next will cook on low for 2 hours or check after an hour. I also added some sweet chili sauce to give it a little kick. I served with jasmine rice and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
i did not care for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is really good and I will definitely be making this again. I followed the directions exactly. I did use the chicken thighs and I did brown them. Make sure you use fresh ginger. The flavor is delicious. The only thing I will do differently next time is to decrease the time it is cooked in the slow cooker. I have a newer model slow cooker that is pretty big and since the thighs were browned and then put in mine were probably done in 2 hours on high and I cooked them for 3 before checking them and they were a little dried out. Other than that everyone loved this meal. I served it with broccoli and jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I couldn't get the sauce to thicken but the flavour was really good. I was craving more of a sticky thick honey garlic sauce but I will make this again since it tasted so good. I served it with rice and sauteed bean sprouts, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, and a corn starch, ground ginger, chicken stock sauce coating :D I think next time I will take the sauce and pan fry it to thicken it up and see if that makes it just right. I did not put pineapple anything in it and probably won't because I feared it would make it too much like sweet and sour sauce. Thank you for posting a yummy SLOW COOKER recipe! No can soups. haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My family tried this recipe tonight and it was soooo good:) Usually I don't like chicken thighs, but my mom gave me a big tray of them, and I don't like to waste food. I didn't have the pineapple, so I used juice from a can of mandarin oranges. I also omitted the ginger. To thicken up the sauce I whisked together equal parts of water/flour- 2Tbls of each with the sauce and brought it to a boil on the stove. When it was done, we couldn't even tell that they were chicken thighs (a good thing) the sauce compliments the meat very well. I served this with Basmati Rice and green peas. This recipe was loved by my hubby (pretty picky) my 11 year old son, and my 1.5 year old son. This is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I didn't have the pineapple, so I substituted homemade chicken stock for the reserved pineapple juice. I didn't have lite soy sauce and used the rest of the regular soy sauce I had, about 1/4 cup. I love garlic, so I used 6 cloves and halved them for easy removal later. Also used 1 tsp of ground ginger. Although I used so many substitutions, it was really good! I thickened with 4 tbsp cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeperathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was good. Like sweet and sour chicken. I removed the skin. I think this helps absorb the flavor and it reduces the amount of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States