Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These beans were delicious! Just what I was hoping for. I left out the mustard and the bacon because I didn't have either and it still was so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
As so many reviews recommend, I soaked the beans (used 1.5c white navy, 1.5c black) for 10 hours, then boiled and simmered 1.5 hrs. Once I moved them to the crockpot, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was delicious! Raves from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen L
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is an excellent recipe.The changes I made was to soak the beans overnight & boil them for 1hr.until they became soft.I didn't have navy beans ,just white pea beans and they were perfect.I cooked them on high for 1hr. then low setting for 1hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
excellent. All the family gave it a "make it aagain review" Next time I will try it with BBQ sauce intead of ketchup for a tangier result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe! I had lost my recipe that was almost the same, and this is perfect! I made a couple of modifications, but I believe it would have been great anyway. I added a diced green pepper and replaced some of the ketchup with barbecue sauce. I probably only used half the brown sugar too and it was plenty sweet. I thought I had bacon, but was out so I omitted it and no difference really. The biggest key, as others have said, is to make sure the beans are soft before adding everything else. There's nothing worse than spending all day cooking to have it come out too tough. Yes, it's happened to me. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I noticed the salt went in right along with the other ingredients. This causes the beans to be tough. I never add salt to beans until they are cooked. It makes a big difference. My mother-in-law taught me this many, many years ago when I was first married and asked why my beans didn't turn out as good as hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is the best baked bean recipe I have ever tried. It took a bit longer for the beans to soften, but it was worth the rate. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was my first attempt at make homemade beans. I pretty much follows the instructions except my beans cooked for 12 hours. Otherwise the flavor and taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I also soaked my beans overnight and in the morning boiled for 1 hour. They came out great. oh yeah I didn't have any molasses so i used light corn syrup and they tasted great! **update- I cheated once and used a bottle of BBQ sauceand they weren't as good as the origional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Oh My, these were the best! The hubby and kids loved them. Not too sweet for us. I followed the suggestion of 8oz of water and cooking on low for 6 hours. I drained all but approxmately 1/2 cup of "broth", then I added the all of the ingredients and cooked for about 1 more hour. Finally I baked in the oven on 350 for another 45 minutes. Wow I should have made these for July 4th. Well next time, no next week. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States