Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
TLEFURGEY, thank you for this recipe. Delicious! Prepared exactly as noted. I did boil the beans as per numerous posters. Everyone loved them and will be making again for a party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Followed previous reviewers' advice and added salt at the end. Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Also put a piece of paper towel on the inside of the lid, which made beans thick and not soupy. Ended up needing to add a 1/2 cup of water at the end, as they got too thick! Beans tasted good if not slightly flat at the end of cooking. Added a Tbsp. Dijon mustard at the end with my salt, as well as a splash of cider vinegar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Did the overnight soak in the crock pot..over 8 hours was almost too long. Threw everything in the pot at the same time. Terrific taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Quite sweet. Takes a long time to cook, on low it took about 18 hours. Easy and low maintenance to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is terrific! So easy and so so delicious! I doubled it because I was going to two 4th of July picnics and I'm known as the "bean lady"! So what else would I take! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
i subbed 2 large cans of small white beans since i was short on time and needed dinner for many.... i mixed all ingred except beans in slo cooker and added canned beans 30 min before finish and wah la! done and delish in just 3 hrs!! used high cook mode on sauce for 3 hrs..... very happy with flavor and texture of beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vienna, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
My husband loved this so much he raved about it on his Facebook status update! :) I soaked the beans and boiled them, so they were pretty soft before I combined all of the ingredients in the crockpot, thus cutting down my time to 5 1/2 hours. I also went a little shy on the sugar, because I don't like very sweet baked beans. They are AMAZING! Tangy, sweet, thick . . . scrumptious. We are stealing bites out of the pot, even though they are for dinner tomorrow! Will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have made these and many baked beans on the stove and in a crockpot. Please, please don't add salt until the very end of the cooking cycle. When they were still hard, I cooked one batch of beans literally for 5 days trying to see if they would ever get soft, and that's when I read any salt toughens them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Munoz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Followed advice from previous reviews. Soaked beans overnight almost 12 hours. Then brought beans to a boil and then simmered on low for one hour before putting in crock pot. Followed reciped exactly, sauce was excellent. Cooked 4 hours on high and then 2 hours on low. Beans were perfect. OH! to avoid sauce being to watery I put paper towels over the crock pot before putting the lid on to absorb condensation that gathers. I do that on alot of my slow cooker meals to avoid watery sauces, etc. Will definetly make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed these beans. I left the bacon out but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was hitt with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States