Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This would have been 5 stars if I could have gotten the beans to cool. I see so many people having this issue and citing the tomatoes and/or salt as the culprit(s) that stop the beans from softening that I wonder why the directions don't call for cooking the beans first or adding the ketchup/salt last. I soaked my beans for 12 hours and they cooked for a whopping 24 hours in the crock pot, 4 of which were on high heat. The beans did not soften properly. The sauce tasted awesome, however, and my house smelled like heaven all the time they were cooking, so I suppose that was the silver lining! I will definitely make this recipe again, but the beans will get boiled in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good beans! My husband loved them and said they're almost as good as the beans at our favorite BBQ joint. I cooked my beans with just water and the onions until tender, then drained off most of the water with a ladle and added the other ingredients sans water and I cut back the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. No bacon b/c we wanted vegetarian beans. The beans tasted good but the addition of 2 t Frank's Red Hot Sauce and 1/2 t chili powder really made them great. They don't taste spicy or like chili beans at all, the extra ingredients just punch up the flavor. I only let the beans cook about half an hour before serving. Next time I will use 1/2 C brown sugar as they were just a TAD sweeter than I prefer. I'm rating the recipe 4 stars without the hot sauce and chili powder but 5 stars with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Beans still very tough after 12 hours; good flavor though. I even tried finishing them the last hour on the stove to try to salvage them. As another reviewer said, beans have to be cooked to tender first, before any salt or acidic ingredients are added. I knew better but tried the recipe as written. Next time will cook beans in plain water first, then add all flavoring ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very good! Soaked overnight, boiled in the morning for an hour and cooked in slow cooker on high for 8 hours. They still could have cooked a little longer. Added Apple juice to the liquid about 2/3 through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Beans were way too hard so next time, follow the advice of other reviewers and boil them first. I reduced ketchup by 1/3 and upped the amount of water big time. The sauce is really good but just too sweet. I will reduce brown sugar next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made these homemade beans for a small Mother's Day celebration with my in-laws. I followed the recipe exactly and everyone thought they were great. I would probably make these again, but I'd change two things. First, I didn't soak the beans overnight, so I boiled them for one hour--but a lot of the beans were still on the crunchy side. So, I would probably boil them for an hour and a half or two hours--or just be certain I soak them overnight. Second, I didn't like the pork/bacon to bean ratio. I thought there was too much bacon. Next time, I'll probably only use three slices of bacon instead of six. But the flavor of the sauce was great, and it was very easy. And, it travels well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These turned out amazing. I didn't have any bacon so I used leftover Ham but that's the only thing I changed and they are fantastic thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Bland. No flavor. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I have never done a review, but felt the need since there was some conflicting reviews about cooking the beans. I soaked the beans overnight and then boiled them until tender enough that they were done cooking, about 30-45 minutes. Then I threw the beans in the crock pot with all the other ingredients, including the tomato ketchup which is an acid and can prevent beans from cooking. This allowed the sauce to thicken and flavor, without the worry about if the beans would be done or not. I knew they were already done before I started the crockpot. This a great recipe. My whole family loved it and it makes great leftovers. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Everyone at my gathering LOVED this recipe however it took MUCH longer to cook the beans even after soaking them overnight! Make sure that you allow plenty of time - mine cooked for about 13 hours and they were good (although cooking them a little longer would not have hurt!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States