Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I soaked the beans overnight and then put them in the crock pot on low; After a few hours I switched it to high as the beans seemed very hard. They were on high for about 6 hours. Long story short, I never served them as they never got soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I tried these yesterday, they were great! I boiled the beans for 2 hrs., and soaked all night. I added the rest of the ingrediants and after 4hrs. in the crockpot they were ready to eat. I don't have to buy Bush's anymore. I highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
only changes I made were pintos instead of navy beans and 1/3 cup brown sugar. good flavor but still too sweet for my tastes, I'll try 1/4 cup of brown sugar next time. otherwise happy to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I liked the sauce a lot but am in agreement with the ones that suggested cooking the beans first. I tried this recipe several times without cooking them first and the one time they never did soften. I will use this recipe but like some of the others have mentioned I will cook the beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Soaked overnight and boil until you can almost mash with a fork. I Used maple syrup instead of brown sugar. The real trick i found with crock pot baked beans, Place a piece of tinfoil just ontop of the surface of the beans while cooking. Acts like a oven, keeps the heat right on the beans, will even brown the top of the beans a bit. Keeps condensation that rises to the top of the cover out of the beans. Terrific tip that was shared with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very simple recipe which is great but there was no depth in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This recipe reminds me of the baked beans my mother made. I have used this recipe for several years now and wouldn't use any other. As others have found, I always soak the beans overnight, then boil for 45-60 minutes in the morning before putting in the crockpot or they are still hard even after 8 hours it the crockpot. Other than that I wouldn't (and don't) change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Be sure to cook these beans before putting in the slow cooker. Cut brown sugar to 1/4 C if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
YUM! I followed the recipe exactly except I simmered the beans an hour before putting in the slow cooker. What an amazing recipe! I've made a few times now, and even added a tinge of liquid smoke once which was pleasant. Definitely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
TLEFURGEY this is a great recipe as is. how ever I make 400 servings at a time for the a VFW Beach Bash here in the Philippines. We always get asked for extra. I don't use a slow cooker but cook them in 24x13x9 pans uncovered for 10 hours (while smoking my briskets) in my smoke house at 230 degrees. I use 25 cups of tomato ketchup (expensive here) and 25 cups Banana ketchup. I have to smoke my own bacon also I cut molasses back to 7 cups and brown sugar to 30 cups. I also add 10 extra cups of water due to long cooking time. the beans pick up smoke flavor and sweetness from the Mango wood I smoke with. for those that have a smoker try cooking them that way the flavor is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States