Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made these for my daughters birthday bbq and everyone LOVED them. It was my first time making homemade baked beans and it was a huge relief that I picked an accurate recipe to try. I did follow other suggestions and cook my beans a bit before adding the other ingredients. Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I soaked the beans overnight and then put them in the crock pot on low; After a few hours I switched it to high as the beans seemed very hard. They were on high for about 6 hours. Long story short, I never served them as they never got soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I tried these yesterday, they were great! I boiled the beans for 2 hrs., and soaked all night. I added the rest of the ingrediants and after 4hrs. in the crockpot they were ready to eat. I don't have to buy Bush's anymore. I highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
only changes I made were pintos instead of navy beans and 1/3 cup brown sugar. good flavor but still too sweet for my tastes, I'll try 1/4 cup of brown sugar next time. otherwise happy to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I liked the sauce a lot but am in agreement with the ones that suggested cooking the beans first. I tried this recipe several times without cooking them first and the one time they never did soften. I will use this recipe but like some of the others have mentioned I will cook the beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Soaked overnight and boil until you can almost mash with a fork. I Used maple syrup instead of brown sugar. The real trick i found with crock pot baked beans, Place a piece of tinfoil just ontop of the surface of the beans while cooking. Acts like a oven, keeps the heat right on the beans, will even brown the top of the beans a bit. Keeps condensation that rises to the top of the cover out of the beans. Terrific tip that was shared with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very simple recipe which is great but there was no depth in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This recipe reminds me of the baked beans my mother made. I have used this recipe for several years now and wouldn't use any other. As others have found, I always soak the beans overnight, then boil for 45-60 minutes in the morning before putting in the crockpot or they are still hard even after 8 hours it the crockpot. Other than that I wouldn't (and don't) change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Be sure to cook these beans before putting in the slow cooker. Cut brown sugar to 1/4 C if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
YUM! I followed the recipe exactly except I simmered the beans an hour before putting in the slow cooker. What an amazing recipe! I've made a few times now, and even added a tinge of liquid smoke once which was pleasant. Definitely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States