Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I'm choosing not to post stars as to throw off the rating, but frankly, I was disappointed. Not in the sauce, which tasted wonderful, but in the fact the beans never finished cooking! I think the bottom line is to follow the advice of a previous reviewer & soak + boil before slow cooking. The allrecipes site has an advice section, which addresses the issue, I've pasted it below. Time your Seasoning For the most part, you can go ahead and add spices, seasonings and aromatics to your pot o' beans when you start cooking them, but there are a few things that you should never add until the end: salt, and anything acidic, like tomato products, lemon juice, wine and vinegar. Salt will toughen the skins of the beans, and acids can keep beans from ever getting soft. Once your beans are tender, you may add these ingredients to your heart's content. I'm coming back to let you know I've tried this recipe again, but soaked the dry beans overnight, simmering in the morning till soft. Worked beautifully! I will use this recipe's ratios in the future, but those beans are being cooked first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made sure the beans were basically cooked before I added any other ingredients. I rinsed then quick-soaked them (add beans to hot water and boil for 2 minutes, then leave in hot water with cover on for 1 hour). After the quick soak, I put them in my pressure cooker for 3 minutes on high pressure with natural pressure release. I added a few tablespoons of oil to the water in the pressure cooker to keep the skins from getting tough (a tip from my pressure cooker cookbook). They were very tender before I added the other ingredients. Cooked on low for 7 hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This was the first time I made baked beans, but this recipe is the best! No need to try any other recipes. Nice sweet molasses flavour! I soaked the beans overnight and cooked the recipe in my slow cooker for 9 1/2 hrs (It wasn't quite ready at 8 hrs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
My Mom found these too sweet so instead of 1.5 c ketchup I used 3/4 c tomato puree and 3/4 c ketchup. Not so sweet. I agree with the previous review they are perfect otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Re: Beans that are still hard after 18 hours This has happened to me in the past. I couldn't figure out why, until I heard a radio cooking show explain it. The ACID in the tomatoes prevents the beans from cooking thoroughly. The radio cook suggested not adding acid ingredients until after the beans are cooked. I always follow that advice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
NO SOAKING, NO BOILING. I just rinsed the beans and cooked them on High in the Crock-Pot with 8 cups of water for 6 hours. Then I added all the other ingredients and they were hassle-free and perfect! I did not add the 1 1/2 cups of Water; used only 1/2 cup Brown Sugar; no mustard; no bacon (didn't have). These were the best baked beans I have ever tasted, will make them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Follow the advice of previous reviewers and you'll have perfect beans! Great texture and outstanding flavor... I ate these twice a day for over a week and never got sick of them! That said, this makes an awful lot of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
The flavor of this dish was great! However my beans never did cook completely despite cooking them for 18+ hours! I soaked them overnight but maybe that was a bad batch of beans. I will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
very simple, basic recipe with delicious result. I cut the salt in half and the sugar to 2/3 cup. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Great recipe! Followed the advice of other reviewers and made sure the beans were well cooked prior to adding to sauce. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States