Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This was the first time I made baked beans, but this recipe is the best! No need to try any other recipes. Nice sweet molasses flavour! I soaked the beans overnight and cooked the recipe in my slow cooker for 9 1/2 hrs (It wasn't quite ready at 8 hrs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is a very good recipe. I soaked the beans overnight-10 hours and boiled them for 30 min to an an hour so they were soft enough.DO NOT SKIP THE BOILING or you will be cooking them forever and wondering why they don't get soft. Older beans take longer so if they are fresh 30 min may be enough. Also do not add salt until cooked it also prevents the beans from getting soft. They were not dry and the ratio of tomato to molasses was perfect. I gave 4 stars instead of five because they are a lttle too sweet because of the ketchup. So next time I pureed a can of tomatoes instead, so a cup of pureed tomatoes and half a cup of ketchup and used half the brown sugar recommended. They were still sweet but much less so. If I have it I add a smoked ham hock. Gives it a delicious smokey taste and the meat just falls off the bone. My husband doesn't like beans but likes it cooked with a ham hock. In addition you can cook them for about 5 hours on high if you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
My Mom found these too sweet so instead of 1.5 c ketchup I used 3/4 c tomato puree and 3/4 c ketchup. Not so sweet. I agree with the previous review they are perfect otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
A very good recipe, with just a couple of minor problems. I used a bean combo (great northern, navy, small red)to give a little variety, and also for a more interesting presentation. I didn't want to cook any bacon, so I added about 1/3 cup or so of real bacon bits, which worked great. My biggest problem, however, was that I needed these for a 2pm dinner, so I threw my oven safe crockpot bowl into the oven at about 300 degrees to speed things up. They ended up needing the addition of about 4 extra cups of water, but I got them done in time and they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
The flavor of this dish was great! However my beans never did cook completely despite cooking them for 18+ hours! I soaked them overnight but maybe that was a bad batch of beans. I will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I'm choosing not to post stars as to throw off the rating, but frankly, I was disappointed. Not in the sauce, which tasted wonderful, but in the fact the beans never finished cooking! I think the bottom line is to follow the advice of a previous reviewer & soak + boil before slow cooking. The allrecipes site has an advice section, which addresses the issue, I've pasted it below. Time your Seasoning For the most part, you can go ahead and add spices, seasonings and aromatics to your pot o' beans when you start cooking them, but there are a few things that you should never add until the end: salt, and anything acidic, like tomato products, lemon juice, wine and vinegar. Salt will toughen the skins of the beans, and acids can keep beans from ever getting soft. Once your beans are tender, you may add these ingredients to your heart's content. I'm coming back to let you know I've tried this recipe again, but soaked the dry beans overnight, simmering in the morning till soft. Worked beautifully! I will use this recipe's ratios in the future, but those beans are being cooked first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Re: Beans that are still hard after 18 hours This has happened to me in the past. I couldn't figure out why, until I heard a radio cooking show explain it. The ACID in the tomatoes prevents the beans from cooking thoroughly. The radio cook suggested not adding acid ingredients until after the beans are cooked. I always follow that advice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Too sweet and too much "ketchup" flavor. Soaked overnight and boiled the beans for an hour first....still a little bit tough after cooking time had passed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I soaked my beans overnight and then boiled them 1 hr before placing in the crock pot and after about 6 hours the beans were definitely done. I liked these ok but I don't think I'll make them again my fanily doesn't seem to be a fan of baked beans. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
After reading the reviews, I altered the recipe a bit and they turned out just fine. I actually did the "quick soak" method on my beans...boiled them for a few minutes, and then left them sitting in the covered pot for an hour before draining them and putting them in the crock pot with the bacon, onion and seasonings. I coked them on "high" for 4 hours, until they were moderately tender, then added the ketchup and cooked on low for another six hours. I also cut the brown sugar in half, since others mentioned it was too sweet. Next time I wouldn't though...because I kind of like mine a little sweet. Overall, good recipe, but it did seem like something was missing..and I just couldn't place it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States