Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe and very easy. The only thing I changed was cooking the beans on high instead of low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
too too sweet n beans didnt cook well after soaking overnight and boiling on the stove the next morning.. better off doing them in the oven all day on low!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made these for a group of high schoolers, all guys, and not one of them would eat them. Even these teens found them sickening sweet. I took a bite after the kids refused to eat the beans and I felt as if I was going into an instant sugar coma. If you try this recipe, cut way back on the brown sugar and perhaps the molasses could be cut to 2 tablespoons. Ended up throwing the entire pot out, hubbie wouldn't even taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
The beans didn't cook through even though I had them soaking on warm for 8 hours before adding the other ingredients (but I meant to put it on high). By the time the beans were cooked some of the sauce was burnt, and now it all tastes burnt. Not sure if we'll be able to eat it...This sauce is good but the recipe needs to indicated how to cook the beans completely before adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My first time making home made beans and they were delicious - I've shared the recipe with others already. I soaked over night and boiled as per the instructions of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I don't really care for baked beans, but I'm bringing them to a work picnic and this was the recipe I decided on. Based on time, I soaked them for about an hour, then boiled them for about an hour (without any salt or acid!) and then put them in the crock pot. They turned out fantastic and even I ate them. My husband keeps asking me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
TLEFURGEY, thank you for this recipe. Delicious! Prepared exactly as noted. I did boil the beans as per numerous posters. Everyone loved them and will be making again for a party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Followed previous reviewers' advice and added salt at the end. Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Also put a piece of paper towel on the inside of the lid, which made beans thick and not soupy. Ended up needing to add a 1/2 cup of water at the end, as they got too thick! Beans tasted good if not slightly flat at the end of cooking. Added a Tbsp. Dijon mustard at the end with my salt, as well as a splash of cider vinegar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Did the overnight soak in the crock pot..over 8 hours was almost too long. Threw everything in the pot at the same time. Terrific taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Quite sweet. Takes a long time to cook, on low it took about 18 hours. Easy and low maintenance to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States