Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Beans were way too hard so next time, follow the advice of other reviewers and boil them first. I reduced ketchup by 1/3 and upped the amount of water big time. The sauce is really good but just too sweet. I will reduce brown sugar next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made these homemade beans for a small Mother's Day celebration with my in-laws. I followed the recipe exactly and everyone thought they were great. I would probably make these again, but I'd change two things. First, I didn't soak the beans overnight, so I boiled them for one hour--but a lot of the beans were still on the crunchy side. So, I would probably boil them for an hour and a half or two hours--or just be certain I soak them overnight. Second, I didn't like the pork/bacon to bean ratio. I thought there was too much bacon. Next time, I'll probably only use three slices of bacon instead of six. But the flavor of the sauce was great, and it was very easy. And, it travels well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These turned out amazing. I didn't have any bacon so I used leftover Ham but that's the only thing I changed and they are fantastic thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Bland. No flavor. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I have never done a review, but felt the need since there was some conflicting reviews about cooking the beans. I soaked the beans overnight and then boiled them until tender enough that they were done cooking, about 30-45 minutes. Then I threw the beans in the crock pot with all the other ingredients, including the tomato ketchup which is an acid and can prevent beans from cooking. This allowed the sauce to thicken and flavor, without the worry about if the beans would be done or not. I knew they were already done before I started the crockpot. This a great recipe. My whole family loved it and it makes great leftovers. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Everyone at my gathering LOVED this recipe however it took MUCH longer to cook the beans even after soaking them overnight! Make sure that you allow plenty of time - mine cooked for about 13 hours and they were good (although cooking them a little longer would not have hurt!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
this was exactly what i was looking for.. almost impossible to find homemade beans.. cooked from scratch.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I did follow other people's advice and cut down on the sugar, and I'm glad I did, it was plenty sweet. But I still LOVED this recipe, and its so easy and nice to have dinner ready when I come home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Flavor was pretty good, a little on the sweet side. Will certainly make again, but with a bit less molasses/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These beans taste wonderful! I cut the brown sugar in slightly more than half as previous reviewers suggested, and added half a beer. For the last few hours also added some extra tomato sauce to thicken it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States