Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Everyone at my gathering LOVED this recipe however it took MUCH longer to cook the beans even after soaking them overnight! Make sure that you allow plenty of time - mine cooked for about 13 hours and they were good (although cooking them a little longer would not have hurt!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
this was exactly what i was looking for.. almost impossible to find homemade beans.. cooked from scratch.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I did follow other people's advice and cut down on the sugar, and I'm glad I did, it was plenty sweet. But I still LOVED this recipe, and its so easy and nice to have dinner ready when I come home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Flavor was pretty good, a little on the sweet side. Will certainly make again, but with a bit less molasses/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These beans taste wonderful! I cut the brown sugar in slightly more than half as previous reviewers suggested, and added half a beer. For the last few hours also added some extra tomato sauce to thicken it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
As with all bean recipe's i soak mine over night and I never have a problem. This recipe is a good one,I change it abit though (as i do every recipe,not just this one,bad habit of mine) Anyhow,I added another 1/4 cup molasses ,a 1/4 cup maple syrup , 1/2 cup more brown sugar , and 2 tsp of liquid smoke ,and I also put an entire package of bacon in. it turned out incredible , they were gone in 1 day and I have people asking me to make them again so they can have more,even been offered money for them lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY71

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe and very easy. The only thing I changed was cooking the beans on high instead of low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
too too sweet n beans didnt cook well after soaking overnight and boiling on the stove the next morning.. better off doing them in the oven all day on low!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made these for a group of high schoolers, all guys, and not one of them would eat them. Even these teens found them sickening sweet. I took a bite after the kids refused to eat the beans and I felt as if I was going into an instant sugar coma. If you try this recipe, cut way back on the brown sugar and perhaps the molasses could be cut to 2 tablespoons. Ended up throwing the entire pot out, hubbie wouldn't even taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
The beans didn't cook through even though I had them soaking on warm for 8 hours before adding the other ingredients (but I meant to put it on high). By the time the beans were cooked some of the sauce was burnt, and now it all tastes burnt. Not sure if we'll be able to eat it...This sauce is good but the recipe needs to indicated how to cook the beans completely before adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States