Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Great, a hit with non-bean lovers! I followed it exactly, but next time may reduce sugar and ketchup just to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have been looking for a bean recipe for some time and came upon this one. After checking the star rating and reading some of the reviews, I decided it was a good recipe to try. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. After 13 hours the beans still have not cooked through and the sugar level is through the roof and therefore not fit to consume. I have tried many recipes from this site and this is the first time that I was unhappy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Delicious! The first time I made them I only soaked the beans and it came outh fine, the second time it took over 12 hours for the beans to soften. Since dried beans apparently aren't consistent, I now soak and cook the beans first. I use smoked salt, or a little liquid smoke in the beans. I've also started adding a generous splash of whiskey about 1/2 hour before serving - yum!!! My friends now request "my" famous baked beans for all our cookouts - thanks for sharing, TLEFURGEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Not bad. I soaked the beans overnight and then simmered for about an hour. Cooked in slow cooker overnight. The bean were cooked, but not mushy -- perfect. My issue is with the sauce. It was ok, but tasted like ketchup. Next time, I will try a recipe that doesn't use ketchup as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This would have been 5 stars if I could have gotten the beans to cool. I see so many people having this issue and citing the tomatoes and/or salt as the culprit(s) that stop the beans from softening that I wonder why the directions don't call for cooking the beans first or adding the ketchup/salt last. I soaked my beans for 12 hours and they cooked for a whopping 24 hours in the crock pot, 4 of which were on high heat. The beans did not soften properly. The sauce tasted awesome, however, and my house smelled like heaven all the time they were cooking, so I suppose that was the silver lining! I will definitely make this recipe again, but the beans will get boiled in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good beans! My husband loved them and said they're almost as good as the beans at our favorite BBQ joint. I cooked my beans with just water and the onions until tender, then drained off most of the water with a ladle and added the other ingredients sans water and I cut back the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. No bacon b/c we wanted vegetarian beans. The beans tasted good but the addition of 2 t Frank's Red Hot Sauce and 1/2 t chili powder really made them great. They don't taste spicy or like chili beans at all, the extra ingredients just punch up the flavor. I only let the beans cook about half an hour before serving. Next time I will use 1/2 C brown sugar as they were just a TAD sweeter than I prefer. I'm rating the recipe 4 stars without the hot sauce and chili powder but 5 stars with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Beans still very tough after 12 hours; good flavor though. I even tried finishing them the last hour on the stove to try to salvage them. As another reviewer said, beans have to be cooked to tender first, before any salt or acidic ingredients are added. I knew better but tried the recipe as written. Next time will cook beans in plain water first, then add all flavoring ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Seeley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very good! Soaked overnight, boiled in the morning for an hour and cooked in slow cooker on high for 8 hours. They still could have cooked a little longer. Added Apple juice to the liquid about 2/3 through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Beans were way too hard so next time, follow the advice of other reviewers and boil them first. I reduced ketchup by 1/3 and upped the amount of water big time. The sauce is really good but just too sweet. I will reduce brown sugar next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made these homemade beans for a small Mother's Day celebration with my in-laws. I followed the recipe exactly and everyone thought they were great. I would probably make these again, but I'd change two things. First, I didn't soak the beans overnight, so I boiled them for one hour--but a lot of the beans were still on the crunchy side. So, I would probably boil them for an hour and a half or two hours--or just be certain I soak them overnight. Second, I didn't like the pork/bacon to bean ratio. I thought there was too much bacon. Next time, I'll probably only use three slices of bacon instead of six. But the flavor of the sauce was great, and it was very easy. And, it travels well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States