Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wow-these baked beans are incredible, this is one I'll be using many times in the future when grilling out or even on a wintry Sunday. Incredibly easy and uses only a few ingredients which I always have on hand. I did exactly as others suggested with fantastic results; namely both soaking the beans overnight and then simmering at a slow boil for an hour in the morning before throwing in the crockpot. If you do this then just add the other ingredients and let it go for 8 hours on low, be sure to stir every now and then-don't wait to add the ketchup/salt as the sauce literally comes together like fine wine over the duration of time. While it might seem a bit sweet initially, after slow cooking for 8 hours it all comes together and is simply perfection-I'm a person who likes spicy sauces and I'd not add a thing to this, nor change the composition. Kudos for this one, it's truly simplicity and perfection in one-I'll not be buying anymore canned beans! (this is FAR less expensive than canned beans, a single package of beans fixes a whole pot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyOSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I doubled the recipe in a 6 qt. crock pot using 1 pkg each navy beans and lima beans (totaled 6 cups). Soaked x8 hrs then boiled x 1 hr. Placed in crock pot then doubled everything in the recipe except ketchup (used 2 cups total) and brown sugar (kept 1 cup). Added a smoked ham shank. The beans were amazing and the house smelled delish. They were not too dry and we got many compliments!! This is a great recipe to feed a crowd when making burgers and dogs on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I love this recipe..it is so easy and delicious. Much better than can pork and beans that you have to doctor up..it also hold up well in the fridge for a week or more...thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
These were fantastic for 4th of July! However I am giving them only 4 stars because I added Worchestshire sauce and BBQ sauce because what are beans without it! But super good recipe! Making it again for Labor Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Love these beans! Definitely need to boil the beans first, or they'll never soften. Boil for about an hour with just water (no salt!). Advice I got from my mom: when you can smash a bean between your fingers, then you know it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Great, a hit with non-bean lovers! I followed it exactly, but next time may reduce sugar and ketchup just to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have been looking for a bean recipe for some time and came upon this one. After checking the star rating and reading some of the reviews, I decided it was a good recipe to try. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. After 13 hours the beans still have not cooked through and the sugar level is through the roof and therefore not fit to consume. I have tried many recipes from this site and this is the first time that I was unhappy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Delicious! The first time I made them I only soaked the beans and it came outh fine, the second time it took over 12 hours for the beans to soften. Since dried beans apparently aren't consistent, I now soak and cook the beans first. I use smoked salt, or a little liquid smoke in the beans. I've also started adding a generous splash of whiskey about 1/2 hour before serving - yum!!! My friends now request "my" famous baked beans for all our cookouts - thanks for sharing, TLEFURGEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Not bad. I soaked the beans overnight and then simmered for about an hour. Cooked in slow cooker overnight. The bean were cooked, but not mushy -- perfect. My issue is with the sauce. It was ok, but tasted like ketchup. Next time, I will try a recipe that doesn't use ketchup as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This would have been 5 stars if I could have gotten the beans to cool. I see so many people having this issue and citing the tomatoes and/or salt as the culprit(s) that stop the beans from softening that I wonder why the directions don't call for cooking the beans first or adding the ketchup/salt last. I soaked my beans for 12 hours and they cooked for a whopping 24 hours in the crock pot, 4 of which were on high heat. The beans did not soften properly. The sauce tasted awesome, however, and my house smelled like heaven all the time they were cooking, so I suppose that was the silver lining! I will definitely make this recipe again, but the beans will get boiled in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States