Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
delicious! I took the advice of others, to cook the beans first...but I cheated and used my electric pressure cooker. Worked like a charm. thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Excellent!Rather than soaking overnight, I boiled them (on full boil) for 1 hour. They are like the beans my momused to make. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I soaked the beans overnight and cooked them for 36 hours and they never did get soft (well, maybe a handful). The "sauce" was very good, but who likes crunchy beans? This will not be a saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
These taste very similar to the baked beans my mom used to make when we were kids - they're sweet, which I love! We made them ALMOST exactly as written...we sauteed the onions in the bacon grease and cooked the beans completely before we added the other ingredients and cooked. I think they were 5 star as is, but my husband thought it needed "something," so I think the next time I make them, which will be soon, I will try either apple juice or beer in place of the water. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I soaked my beans for 24 HOURS then cooked on high for 10 hrs. THEY ARE STILL CRUNCHY. I'm pretty irritated. I have read before that acid from tomatoes can slow down the cooking in beans...of course I remembered this at about hour 7 of cooking. The flavor wasn't great anyway...tasted like ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
The lesson here is "you just can't trust a bean". Bean quality varies. I have had beans turn out with little soaking or boiling at all. Other times nothing I did could save them. As a precaution I soaked overnight and boiled but not until fully cooked. My beans are in the crock as we speak. I doubled the recipe and added extra dry mustard and vinegar. The reciepe on the bean package is the one I always use but this was very close and I wanted to use the help of other reviewers. I gave 5 stars. I know this sauce will be a good one however these beans are starting out pretty soupy. I tried the paper towel trick but my paper towel fell in (which is exactly what my husband said would happen) I tried to use the moisture to stick it to the lid but it fell in right away. I put in some tomato paste but we'll see... I like my beans to taste like candy but found that the rest here like less sweet. Due to my addition of more dry mustard, vinegar and pepper the gang will probably be fine. I am thinking about one reveiwers suggestion of the Frank's hot sauce and the teaspoon of chili powder. Beans are fun to experiment with. I used a nice ham bone with lots of leftover ham from Xmas in my pot. Gave this a 5 star because already I know it's going to be good. My beans are 2 hours in and 3/4 cooked. I just hope I got a decent batch of navy beans to begin with. Thanks TLEFURGEY. Sometimes I throw the package out and am digging around for the recipe. Other than the vinegar this is very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Smalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
My first time ever making beans & these turned out amazing. You def need to let them cook a long time but they were a big hit w/my husband! I froze the leftovers & plan to thaw them this weekend. What a great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made these and brought to football Sunday. Everyone raved about them, they were a huge hit! Perfect amount of tang and sweetness. I soaked overnight and threw them in the crockpot on high for about 5 hours (i truly don't see a need to soak them overnight AND boil them). I did wait until they were pretty much cooked before I put in the acidic ingredients, (ketchup, mustard, sugar, molasses) and then finished on low for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
So much better than canned! Used only 4 slices of bacon has that's all I had, and it was plenty. Also used half the salt, which I added towards the end with the ketchup because salt and tomatoes can keep beans from softening. Also increased water to 2 cups to make sure beans were covered in crockpot. Before placing in crock, I used this method to reduce gas: place beans in 6 cups cold water and nothing else, bring to a boil and boil ten minutes. Remove pot to sink, do NOT drain, add 1/4 baking soda and stir like crazy until all foam is gone. Rinse beans well, then place in crock and continue as directed. Left on low overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wow-these baked beans are incredible, this is one I'll be using many times in the future when grilling out or even on a wintry Sunday. Incredibly easy and uses only a few ingredients which I always have on hand. I did exactly as others suggested with fantastic results; namely both soaking the beans overnight and then simmering at a slow boil for an hour in the morning before throwing in the crockpot. If you do this then just add the other ingredients and let it go for 8 hours on low, be sure to stir every now and then-don't wait to add the ketchup/salt as the sauce literally comes together like fine wine over the duration of time. While it might seem a bit sweet initially, after slow cooking for 8 hours it all comes together and is simply perfection-I'm a person who likes spicy sauces and I'd not add a thing to this, nor change the composition. Kudos for this one, it's truly simplicity and perfection in one-I'll not be buying anymore canned beans! (this is FAR less expensive than canned beans, a single package of beans fixes a whole pot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyOSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States