Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Be sure to cook these beans before putting in the slow cooker. Cut brown sugar to 1/4 C if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
YUM! I followed the recipe exactly except I simmered the beans an hour before putting in the slow cooker. What an amazing recipe! I've made a few times now, and even added a tinge of liquid smoke once which was pleasant. Definitely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
TLEFURGEY this is a great recipe as is. how ever I make 400 servings at a time for the a VFW Beach Bash here in the Philippines. We always get asked for extra. I don't use a slow cooker but cook them in 24x13x9 pans uncovered for 10 hours (while smoking my briskets) in my smoke house at 230 degrees. I use 25 cups of tomato ketchup (expensive here) and 25 cups Banana ketchup. I have to smoke my own bacon also I cut molasses back to 7 cups and brown sugar to 30 cups. I also add 10 extra cups of water due to long cooking time. the beans pick up smoke flavor and sweetness from the Mango wood I smoke with. for those that have a smoker try cooking them that way the flavor is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Superb recipe, but like other reviewers have mentioned, my beans (fresh, presoaked overnight) turned out crunchy the first time I made it. The second time, I presoaked overnight and boiled the beans first, also added the salt and ketchup towards the end of the cooking time, and they turned out perfect! This worked out great for freezer cooking as well, I made a double batch, cooled, stored half in one large ziplock and the rest in smaller portions. When it was time for the family get-together, all I had to do was thaw, pour into serving dish, and reheat. Next time, I am going to try a little less sugar (personal preference), but this is by far the best baked beans I have ever had. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
delicious! I took the advice of others, to cook the beans first...but I cheated and used my electric pressure cooker. Worked like a charm. thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Excellent!Rather than soaking overnight, I boiled them (on full boil) for 1 hour. They are like the beans my momused to make. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I soaked the beans overnight and cooked them for 36 hours and they never did get soft (well, maybe a handful). The "sauce" was very good, but who likes crunchy beans? This will not be a saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
These taste very similar to the baked beans my mom used to make when we were kids - they're sweet, which I love! We made them ALMOST exactly as written...we sauteed the onions in the bacon grease and cooked the beans completely before we added the other ingredients and cooked. I think they were 5 star as is, but my husband thought it needed "something," so I think the next time I make them, which will be soon, I will try either apple juice or beer in place of the water. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I soaked my beans for 24 HOURS then cooked on high for 10 hrs. THEY ARE STILL CRUNCHY. I'm pretty irritated. I have read before that acid from tomatoes can slow down the cooking in beans...of course I remembered this at about hour 7 of cooking. The flavor wasn't great anyway...tasted like ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
The lesson here is "you just can't trust a bean". Bean quality varies. I have had beans turn out with little soaking or boiling at all. Other times nothing I did could save them. As a precaution I soaked overnight and boiled but not until fully cooked. My beans are in the crock as we speak. I doubled the recipe and added extra dry mustard and vinegar. The reciepe on the bean package is the one I always use but this was very close and I wanted to use the help of other reviewers. I gave 5 stars. I know this sauce will be a good one however these beans are starting out pretty soupy. I tried the paper towel trick but my paper towel fell in (which is exactly what my husband said would happen) I tried to use the moisture to stick it to the lid but it fell in right away. I put in some tomato paste but we'll see... I like my beans to taste like candy but found that the rest here like less sweet. Due to my addition of more dry mustard, vinegar and pepper the gang will probably be fine. I am thinking about one reveiwers suggestion of the Frank's hot sauce and the teaspoon of chili powder. Beans are fun to experiment with. I used a nice ham bone with lots of leftover ham from Xmas in my pot. Gave this a 5 star because already I know it's going to be good. My beans are 2 hours in and 3/4 cooked. I just hope I got a decent batch of navy beans to begin with. Thanks TLEFURGEY. Sometimes I throw the package out and am digging around for the recipe. Other than the vinegar this is very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by screamingwallflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States