Slow Cooker Homemade Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
As long as you follow the advice below so that the beans are fully cooked...or do the recipe exactly, but refrigerate and eat a few days later, this a definite 5-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made them several times and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Barden Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
PERFECT not-baked baked beans recipe. Exactly what I had a craving for. The only change I made was using Goya ham-flavored powder (two packets) instead of bacon to cut down on fat/calories. And, because I own the world's fastest slow cooker, I only cooked it for eight hours on low, and it was already starting to stick to the bottom of the pot. Seven hours probably would have done it. But for a normal slow cooker, the timing in the recipe should be right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This recipe couldn't be any easier! A cinch to make for a pot luck or family get together! Had family get together and these were a hit! Made the recipe as written except I soaked the beans overnight AND boiled for an hour right before I put them in the crock pot. It took a full 10 hours of cooking, but I got perfect bean texture. This does not disappoint! Move over Bush Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttonwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good! Make sure to add enough water if you only partially cook beans before adding to crock pot or they'll never get done! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Sharon Dunkerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Terrific!! Do make sure to cook the beans first. I add beans and 8 cups of water to a slow cooker and cook for 8 hours or until soft, then add the other ingredients (minus the extra water). I tried the stated method one time, and the beans never really softened. Other changes: reduced sugar to 1/3 cup, omitted salt, reduced bacon. My new standard recipe for baked beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKALA79
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I was looking for a real homemade beans recipe (I see so many recipes that call for you to open a few cans and add this and that - that is NOT homemade!) so that I would know exactly what is going in to it. I did soak and boil the beans as others suggested and they were perfect - not too hard not too mushy! I left out the bacon (will try it with next time) and added lots of pepper, 1/2 tbsp of worcestershire and a 1/2 tsp of cayenne. Next time I will use less brown sugar, but other than that, this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
FANTASTIC! I omitted the bacon, added a few tablespoons of real maple syrup (cut back a bit on the brown sugar), and a few drops of smoke flavoring. I'm going to make this recipe for a party this weekend! Loved it! I have heard that Napa Cabbage is good in baked beans...I think this is a great recipe to give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I've done versions of this recipe a few times now and every time my beans turn out awesome! I've done it without the bacon most times and I use less ketchup and a can of diced tomatoes instead to make it a bit less sweet and still get the tomato goodness. I also add real maple syrup to the mix. Fabulous recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were ok....I don't review recipes that are basically completely reworked before they are reviewed. I won't be making again..Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States